Selected Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of TraumaPublication Date: Sage, 2012Covers trauma psychology, military psychiatry and behavioral health, post-traumatic stress and stress disorders, trauma social work, disaster mental health, and, most recently, the subfield of history and trauma, with sociohistorical examination of long-term effects and meanings of major traumas experienced by whole communities and nations.Encyclopedia of Life Writing
Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference CT21 .E53 2001+Publication Date: Fitzroy-Dearborn, 2001Available online through HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service. Signed articles cover "life writing," defined as "encompasses the writing of one's own or another's life," meaning standard autobiography and biography as well as letters, diaries, and memoirs.
Columbia Guide to the HolocaustPublication Date: Columbia UP, 2003Provides a multidimensional survey of the Holocaust: a historical overview; a guide to Holocaust controversies; an A-to-Z encyclopedia of people, places, and terms; a chronology; and a comprehensive resource guide.
Holocaust EncyclopediaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference D804.25 H66x 2001Publication Date: 2001Up-to-date & designed for easy access, this single-volume encyclopedia presents information on the major aspects of the Holocaust. Essays by scholars from eleven countries draw on a number of sources -- including recently uncovered evidence from the former Soviet bloc -- to provide in-depth studies on the political, social, religious, & moral issues of the Holocaust as well as short entries identifying events, sites, & individuals.
Corsini Encyclopedia of PsychologyCall Number: Olin Library Reference BF31 .E56 2010+ (print version)Publication Date: 2010Complete, authoritative and comprehensive information in every major area of psychology and behavioral science, including social psychology. Provides a bibliography of over 10,000 citations.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral SciencesCall Number: Olin Library Reference H41 I58x 2001 (print version)Publication Date: 200126 Vols. Covers theory and methodology in core disciplines and emphasizes the cross-disciplinary interconnectedness among fields within the social sciences. More than 4,000 signed entries including overviews, reviews of future directions, biographies and bibliographies. Online version provides ongoing regular updates and additional new articles.
Subject Encyclopedias
 |
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
|
Multidisciplinary Reference Tools
Alternatives to Wikipedia!
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online
- Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browsable by subject area and keyword searchable.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE, including such areas as African American studies, aging & anthropology, business and management, communication and media studies, counseling and psychotherapy, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, environment, family studies, gender & sexuality studies, geography, health and social welfare, history, politics and international relations, psychology, research methods and evaluation, science, philosophy, and theology, sociology, and urban studies and planning.
How to Read Citations
Learning how to interpret citations you find in scholarly books and articles is a critical research skill and essential to efficiently finding the material you need for your assignments. Watch this video to learn how.