Skip to main content

CRP 1109: The Anatomy of the City (Spring 2019): Home

Introduction: Scenes from the Flint Water Crisis

EPA Diagram for Sources of Lead in Drinking WaterThe Flint River in 2014

Figure 1: 2017 EPA diagram exploring possible sources of lead in drinking water. (source)

Figure 2: Photograph of the Flint River in 2014, shortly after it became used for Flint water supply (source)

Subject Guide

Marsha Taichman's picture
Marsha Taichman
Contact:
Fine Arts Library
306 Rand Hall
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
(607) 255-6718
met228@cornell.edu
Website
Subjects:Art

Don't pay for stuff!

 

Never pay for an article or book or access to resources.

In most cases, the Cornell Library has online journals, newspapers, magazines, ebooks and print books, or can get them for you at no charge to you! 

Passkey can help you find it at Cornell, or Ask a Librarian.

Where Do I Start?

Welcome! This guide is designed to give you all of the tools and resources for thoughtful, creative research on the anatomy & infrasturcture of cities.

  • Planning research
    • Take a look at the plan your reserach page.
    • Learn about citations & evaluating research resources.
    • Remember: we are here to help too! If you'd like to sit down and discuss your project, schedule a research consultation
  • Finding text resources
    • To get a quick introduction to your topic, take a look at our overview resources (subject encyclopedias).
    • Find books! Both physical books and e-books appear in the catalog.
    • We have an excellent collection of journal articles. (Keep in mind you can't find everything through general resources like Google Scholar. You will need to use article databases to find some of the good stuff!)
  • Finding maps & data
    • Find maps. Essentially find maps.
    • Find data. Datasets.
  • Asking for help
    • Ask a Librarian. We can help you plan your research, find materials, interpret data, purchase materials, etc.!

Use ALL the tools!

The best research uses everything, all the tools, and the best tool for the task.

But not all tools are equal. Google and Wikipedia have their uses, but when it comes to scholarly research, rely on restricted tools/resources which are superior, have more content, and are free to Cornellians.

  • Open to the world tools
    • Google
    • Google Scholar/Google Books
    • Wikipedia
    • NYT.com
  • Restricted/subscription/academic tools
    • Library databases (including journal databases)
    • Books (including requesting from peer institutions via Borrow Direct and Interlibrary Loan)
    • Online & print scholarly encyclopedia
    • Newspaper databases & archives
    • Maps from the Map Room (can be digitized upon request)
Cornell Votes! Every Person. Every Voice.
Library Guide