Selected Resources for Tech Research

Use domain-specific or interdisciplinary databases below to discover important literature, including journal articles, government reports, newspapers, technical standards, and patents, in your research area. Such databases let you stay within the boundary of scholarly resources and refine your searches using their sophisticated filtering like document type, publication year, and keyword/vocabulary.


Interdisciplinary databases that cover all or many subjects include:

  • Cornell Library Catalog has records for nearly 8 million books, over 500,000 journals, and close to 5,000 databases
  • Scopus is an interdisciplinary database with records of over 83 million scholarly literature in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities
  • Web of Science provides records to scholarly literature in all subjects from 1900 to the present

Domain-specific databases include:

  • ACM Digital Library
    provides full-text access to all publications by ACM and selected works by affiliated organizations in computing
     
  • arXiv.org 
    is an open-access archive for scholarly articles, typically preprints or pre-publication versions, in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, and many more
     
  • dblp: computer science bibliography 
    has records on major computer science journals and proceedings
     
  • Engineering Village
    is the best comprehensive engineering database with indexed records of over 20 million scholarly literature on applied engineering and physical science
     
  • IEEE Xplore 
    is the premier electrical and computer engineering database with full-text to articles, IEEE standards, and conference proceedings
     
  • Knovel
    provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences, and includes interactive tables, equation plotters, and searchable materials property data
     
  • PAIS International
    contains records to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences
     
  • PubMed
    has more than 34 million citations for publications on biomedical and life sciences topics
     
  • SPIE Digital Library
    has full-text access to scholarly literature in the fields of optics and photonics research from 1962 to present
     
  • Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
    offers lectures and book series in subject areas like Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning, Human-Centered Informatics, and Technology, Management, & Entrepreneurship
     
  • Urban Studies Abstracts
    provides records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline

You can find more databases in the databases catalog and can get in touch with us if there are questions.