Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Private Company Financial Data
If the company is private, little or no specific financial information beyond sales figures may be available about the company. Try to find articles via Factiva or LexisNexis. Both contain thousands of full-text newspapers and business periodicals; you may be able to locate articles which quote company officials discussing the firm's finances.
Also, consider using ratio books. They will allow you to create your financials using industry averages. Several Cornell libraries have the print copies of these recommended books:
A unique platform combing detailed information on investment banking, private equity, corporations, investment management, professional services, and brokerage. Their coverage of private company financials is the most complete of any business database.
US and Local Industy/Market Financial Reports
BizMiner offers granular industry statistical reports that provide industry financial analysis benchmarks for more than 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Micro Firm Profit-Loss Reports cover sole proprietorships and start-ups which is ideal for those writing business plans and looking to benchmark financials
Public Company Financial Data
Public companies are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. In the US, these filings are available directly from the SEC (the Securities and Exchange Commission), or via the selected databases listed below.
Covers over 10,000 US public companies and includes their SEC filings with valuable financial information. Some international company coverage is also included. Access to current and historical annual reports for US and international public companies. Also provides peer group comparisons and "as-reported" financial statements.
Ideal for both private and publicly traded company research. Find company financials, deals, customers, and supplier information. Benchmark against peers and the market. When looking for potential investments, use the company screener to filter for specific performance metrics.