Choose the country for your project or teaching assistanceship
Your project should fit with the country requirements. A good application is well-focused and well-grounded in a place. See the Fulbright web site for details on available countries and requirements.
Fulbright Student Grants are available to more than 140 countries worldwide.
Example: healthcare delivery in Ecuador
Steps:
- Find country info.
- Identify relevant affiliations: NGOs, IGOs, local agencies, colleges -- find a project that interests you.
- Book search: "healthcare latin america"
- Book search: SU "public health" and KW "latin america" (all)
- Any USAID projects? USAID Report for Ecuador
Learn key facts about your country
-
ARDA Association of Religion Data ArchivesIncludes data from around the world, although U.S. data predominates.Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.Lists population, government, military, and economic information for nations recognized by the United States.Country Insights (Global Affairs Canada)Provides information on history, geography, culture (including business etiquette), politics, and the economy of each country.
-
Country Studies (Library of Congress) ***The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.Provides a good general overview of a country's geography, history, demography, languages, food, economy, etiquette, politics, family, religion, and arts and humanities.
-
EIU Country Reports ***EIU Country Reports is a product of the Economist Intelligence Unit and provides in-depth analysis of current political, policy and economic trends and conditions for more than 200 countries.
-
Europa World PlusEconomic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
-
OECD iLibraryOECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD ... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
-
Political Handbook of the World, Olin Library JF37 .P76 + (Latest volume in Reference) Print"Features country profiles that provide key facts, history, politics and government, current issues and events, political parties both official and quasi-official, national election results and office holders, and communications outlets. Also provides profiles of major intergovernmental organizations." (Guide to Reference)
-
The Statesman’s Yearbook, Olin Library JA51 .S79 (Latest volume in Reference) PrintPublished since 1864, The Statesman's Yearbook provides a general survey of the history, politics, economics, trade and infrastructure for each country. Especially detailed for Commonwealth countries (e.g. India).