Selected Databases in Science and Engineering
These are databases that index peer-reviewed journals, technical reports and conference proceedings in science and technology. Each one has a different focus.
For an introduction to engineering research, see our libguide and our Databases page.
- Engineering VillageBest comprehensive database for engineering and physics from 1969 to date.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Covers social sciences, life sciences, and physical sciences.
- GeoRefMain database for earth and atmospheric sciences.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a way to search across all disciplines for scholarly literature, be it articles, books, theses, or preprints.
- IEEE XploreProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, books, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
- Knovel Handbooks and Materials Properties DataKnovel features 2,000 reference ebooks in all fields of engineering. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, graph digitizers, and ability to export to Excel spreadsheets. Large database of materials property data.
- Lens.orgA free and open resource that you can use to discover scholarly works (make sure to select 'Scholarly Works' unless you are looking for patents.) Analysis option analyzes search results and puts them into categories.
- Synthesis Collection of TechnologyContains over 400 lectures on AI, communication networks, electrical engineering, informatics, synthetic biology, and life sciences. Each book synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
- PubmedTop medical database by the National Library of Medicine.
- SPIE Digital LibrarySPIE (Society of Photo optical Instrumentation Engineers) Digital Library provides full-text access to e-books, conference proceedings, and journal articles in the field of optics and photonics research from 1962 to present.
- SpringerLinkProvides access to over 65,000 ebooks from 1842 to the present. Also includes journals, book series, eReferences, and Protocols.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science Core Collection provides citation databases covering all subjects, from 1900 to the present. Find highly cited articles and key authors and journals on your topic/field.
