Oxford Art
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.
Benezit
Included in Oxford Art Online is the Bénézit Dictionary of Artists (also available in print at the Library Annex). Bénézit includes some auction records in biographical entries on individual photographers.
- Bénézit (via Oxford Art)The Benezit Dictionary of Artists offers nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates. Benezit contains thousands of auction records, museum holdings, and bibliographies. In addition to its outstanding scope and depth, two features in particular make Benezit unique among art reference works: its coverage of obscure artists and the inclusion of images of artists’ signatures, monograms, and stamps.
Reference Collections
The print reference collection on art and art history is located on the first level of the Mui Ho Fine Arts Library.
In Olin Library, the print reference collection is located on the first floor.
Examples of resources in print and online include: bibliographies, directories, dictionaries (of symbols, terms, techniques, etc.), a few catalogues raisonnés, subject encyclopedias, guides, handbooks, manuals...
Oxford Bibliographies
Offers bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article
Reference works on the history of photography
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography by Call Number: ui Ho Fine Arts Library Reference (Non-Circulating) TR9 .H36 2008ISBN: 0415972353Publication Date: 2007-08-24
Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography, 3-Volume Set by Call Number: Mui Ho Fine Arts Library Reference (Non-Circulating) TR642 .E5 2006ISBN: 1579583938Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Reference works on photographic processes
The Visual Dictionary of Photography by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781000212853Publication Date: 2021-01-07
International Center of Photography by Call Number: Library Annex TR9 .I61ISBN: 9780517552711Publication Date: 1984-09-04
Dictionary of Photography and Digital Imaging by Call Number: Mui Ho Fine Arts Library TR267 .A58 2001ISBN: 1902538137Publication Date: 2001-01-01
.
![A Kodak creates a sensation, [between 1890 and 1910]. Frances Benjamin Johnston with group of children looking at her camera.](https://c2.staticflickr.com/6/5068/5890980790_445d465b91_b.jpg)
A Kodak creates a sensation, [between 1890 and 1910]. Frances Benjamin Johnston with group of children looking at her camera. From: The Frances Benjamin Johnston Collection (Library of Congress). Source: Flickr Commons
Photographers
Looking up particular photographers? If they're very well known, consult Oxford Art Online or the Bénézit Dictionary of Artists, linked at left. If not, try the New York Public LIbrary's Photographers Identities Catalog, "an experimental interface to a collection of biographical data describing photographers, studios, manufacturers, and others involved in the production of photographic images"
Also try the Photography Database, which contains "Basic Biographical Information about Photographers, Public Photography Collections and Their Photographic Exhibitions