Focus on Labor - General News Websites
- Belabored Podcast (Dissent Magazine)Hosted by veteran labor journalist Sarah Jaffe and Michelle Chen, this podcast features frequent coverage of contemporary strikes.
- Working Class HistoryThis podcast features frequent coverage of historical strikes and labor actions.
- Working History (Southern Labor Studies Association)A podcast produced by the Southern Labor Studies Association. All interviews conducted by Beth English, Princeton University, unless otherwise noted.
Labor Journalism Resources
- FAIR (Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting)This media watchdog group provides current reports and research on bias in mainstream media and censorship. E-mail list available (and t-shirts that say “Don’t Trust the Corporate Media!")
- International Labor Communications Association (ILCA)ILCA is the professional organization for labor journalists & communicators in North America; current web site offerings include educational materials on writing, photography and a list of ILCA members.
- Journalist's ToolboxSupported by the Society of Professional Journalists, the Journalist's Toolbox lists web sites to go to for background information on current issues and more general reference sites for topics such as public records, expert sources, and statistics. Formerly housed by the American Press Institute.
- Labor Press ProjectThis site brings together information about the history and ongoing influence of newspapers and periodicals published by unions, labor councils, and radical organizations in the Pacific Northwest.
- Newspaper Guild (CWA)The Newspaper Guild represents journalists and media workers. Their web site offers news about labor relations in the journalism/media industry, salary data, and contract information.
- Poynter OnlineThe Poynter Institute is a nonprofit, independent organization and school for journalists. The web site extends this mission with articles "tip sheets", bibliographies and links to web pages on ethics, leadership, design, and writing/editing.
- Stateline.orgThis nonprofit, independent web site is a resource for journalists, students, researchers and citizens interested in state-level policy issues. The site publishes state-related news on elections, crime, economy, health care, technology, taxes & budget, energy, politics and the environment daily (except for holidays). Additional reference materials includes an annual State of the States report.
HR & Employment Law Blogroll
- Labor NotesLabor Notes is a monthly publication and organization devoted to the activities of grassroots labor and union activists. The web site offers selected articles from the current and recent (past year) issues, plus sells Labor Notes books and pamphlets.
- Labor Press"New York’s leading source of news for politics and economic issues affecting workers."
- LabourStartLabourStart is an online news service maintained by a global network of volunteers, which aims to serve the international trade union movement by collecting and disseminating information. Its features include daily labor news links in 17 languages and a news syndication service used by more than 630 trade union websites. News is collected from mainstream, trade union, and alternative news sources by a network of nearly 350 volunteer correspondents based on every continent.
- ILR in the NewsHighlights of ILR Alumni, Faculty, Staff, and Students in the news.
- Workplace Issues TodaySelected by the Catherwood Library Reference Staff each Monday through Friday, excluding University holidays, WIT is a free alert service, providing abstracts and links to workplace-related news stories covered in the major media.
- Current U.S. Labor Union PeriodicalsThis is an historical bibliography of U.S. labor union periodicals. (November 2010) It includes links to web locations for many of the periodicals. Also included is a comprehensive bibliography of sources for labor union news and two brief studies on the 2010 state of union communications.