Olin Reference Collection
Subject encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- educating yourself quickly
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Literary Terms and Concepts
Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Olin Reference PN 81 E435 2011Publication Date: Wiley-Blackwell, 2011Arranged in three volumes covering Literary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to the present, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessible entries on the important concepts, theorists and trends in post-1900 literary and cultural theory.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN81 J554 2005+Publication Date: 2004A full-text searchable compendium of articles on individual critics and theorists, critical and theoretical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. It also treats related persons and fields that have been shaped by or have themselves shaped literary theory and criticism. Each entry includes a selective primary and secondary bibliography.
Routledge Companion to Critical and Cultural TheoryCall Number: Olin Reference PN81 R68 2013Publication Date: 2013Examines some of the most complex and fundamental theories in modern scholarship including: Marxism, Trauma, Theory, Ecocriticism, Psychoanalysis, Feminism, Posthumanism, Gender and Queer Theory, Structuralism, Narrative, Postcolonialism, Deconstruction, Postmodernism, etc.
Related Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference E185 E54 2006Publication Date: 20065-vol. work covering all aspects of African-American life. Using biographies, historical essays, and thematic pieces -- many by the foremost scholars in the field -- it addresses a wide array of subjects in more than 2,300 articles to fully define in one source the history, cultural roots and current condition of the African-American community.
Encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history in America by Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference HQ76.3.U5 E53x 2004Surveys more than 400 years of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States, presented through over 500 entries. Coverage includes people, public policy, economics, social issues, identities, and culture, among many others.
Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and SocietyPublication Date: 2008Covers important topics, events, and persons relevant to race and ethicity in society. Also addresses other issues of inequality that intersect with race and ethnicity, including ability status, age, class, gender, and sexual orientation.
Oxford Companion to United States HistoryPublication Date: Oxford, 2001Covers America's political, diplomatic, and military history, as well as social, cultural, and intellectual trends; science, technology, and medicine; the arts; and religion.
American Theater Reference Sources
The Gay and Lesbian Theatrical LegacyCall Number: Olin Reference PN 2286.5 G38 2005Publication Date: University of Michigan Press, c2005"collects in a single volume biographies of more than one hundred notable figures whose careers flourished in the years before the 1969 Stonewall Riots marked the beginning of the gay and lesbian civil rights movement in the United States...the volume includes biographies and portraits of influential actors, playwrights, composers, directors, designers, dancers, producers, managers, critics, choreographers, and technicians." [publisher]
Historical Dictionary of African American TheaterCall Number: Olin Reference PN2270.A35 H53 2009Publication Date: Scarecrow Press, 2008Identifies representative African American theater-producing organizations and chronicles their contributions to the field from its birth in 1816 to the present. Includes a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 cross-referenced dictionary entries on actors, directors, playwrights, plays, theater producing organizations, themes, locations, and theater movements and awards.
Oxford Companion to American TheatreCall Number: Print edition: Olin Reference PN2220 B72 2004Publication Date: New York: Oxford Univ. Press, 2004. 3rd ed.A guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present, the volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, etc. It covers classic works as well as commercially successful plays, plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced dramatic development in the US. New entries include relevant developments and issues including AIDS in American theatre, theatrical producing by Disney, and the rise in solo performance. (Publisher's description, abridged)
General Reference Sources in Theater
The Cambridge Guide to TheatreCall Number: Olin Reference PN2035 C17 1995Publication Date: Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1995Alphabetic listing of theatre culture and history, attempting to present "a comprehensive view of the history and present practice of theatre in all parts of the world, thus pointing to the dynamic interaction of performance traditions from all cultures in present day theatre."(Preface)
Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern DramaCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PN1861 .C65 2007+Publication Date: Columbia University Press, c2007Covers 1860 to the present. Entries emphasize the cultural context of dramatic works and their authors and their relationship to significant social, political, artistic, and philosophical movements. Includes articles on emerging authors and the conventional and experimental theater worldwide.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and PerformanceCall Number: Print: Olin Reference PN2035 O92x 2003+Publication Date: 2 vols. Oxford Univ. Press, 2003Provides information about theatre and performance internationally, through history and in the present. Coverage ranges from ancient Greek theatre to 21st century developments around the globe. Dance, opera, performance art, radio, film, and television are covered, as are para-theatrical, non-dramatic, and popular performance.
Multi-disciplinary Refererence sources
- Oxford Reference Online
- Searchable database of 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Each topical division contains searchable versions of the latest editions of published dictionaries and encyclopedias.Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.
- Reference Universe
- A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 6,000 reference titles.
- Sage Reference Online
- A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aging, anthropology, business, communication, media studies, criminology, economics, education, environment, gender & sexuality studies, geography, history, politics, psychology, research methods, science, philosophy, sociology, and urban studies.
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
- A distinguished team of international scholars explore new thinking in areas previously covered (communism, linguistics, physics) and present cross-cultural perspectives on more recent topics such as postmodernism, deconstruction and post-colonialism.