Authorized users (Cornell University students, faculty, staff, alumni/ae, and guest researchers) can use the Visual History Archive through computers on the Cornell campus for teaching, learning, and research.
Authorized users (Cornell University students, faculty, staff, and alumni/ae with net ID) can also access the Visual History Archive from remote computers.
USC Shoah Foundation -- The Institute for Visual History and Education owns the intellectual property rights, including copyrights, to its videotaped interviews; these rights cover as well the metadata and software of the Visual History Archive.
USC Shoah Foundation information involves privacy interests and is not in the public domain. Unauthorized copying, downloading, recording, or publication of USC Shoah Foundation interviews, in whole or in part, is strictly prohibited and may subject an individual or entity to penalties for copyright infringement.
Any use or publication of information from USC Shoah Foundation interviews in excess of "Fair Use" as specified under 17 USC § 107 and "Fair Practice" as specified under Article 10 of the Berne Convention, requires prior, written permission from USC Shoah Foundation.
All users who publish information from USC Shoah Foundation interviews, in whole or in part, under the Fair Use or Fair Practice doctrines, should cite the interviews as sources. USC Shoah Foundation's recommended citation standard for scholarly works follows the MLA guidelines (7th ed.) for web-based, non-periodical publications:
- Interviewee's name, the word Interview and the number of the interview code, the title of the website (italicized), the publisher, the date of publication, the medium (Web), and the date of access.
- Example: Firestone, Renée. Interview 151. Visual History Archive. USC Shoah Foundation. 2011. Web. 22 Feb. 2011.
Registration and Access: Visual History Archive
Visual History Archive
If new to the Visual History Archive, register through the Login.
Then click the Register button on the VHA login page to create your account.
If already registered, log in with user ID and password.
- Login allows registered researchers to return to saved search results (known as projects).
- If you previously registered to research via Visual History Archive Online (the Web-based access to VHA with a representative sample of interviews), your login and password will work with the VHA version here.
Once registered and signed in, proceed with research. Your first page will be the standard Search page. Several tabs are at the head of the page, including a Help page.
Help includes General FAQs, Armenian Collection FAQs, a User Guide (manual in pdf for download), Ask for Help, and a Site Map.
Questions? You can also contact the Jewish Studies Bibliographer via email on this page.
Access requirements (computers and connections):
- Campus network or Cornell VPN (remote) connection
- Windows: Windows 7 or later; Internet Explorer 9, Google Chrome, or Firefox v.22 or later
- Macintosh: Macintosh OS X 10.6 or later; Safari 5.1.1 or later, or Google Chrome
Use of the Visual History Archive requires a one-time registration and allows users to save searches and projects and have access via e-mail.
See More Access Information for: use by non-Cornell researchers; online searching before access; library open computing spaces.
For help using the Visual History Archive, see the Visual History Archive (VHA) User Guide.