DSOC 2030: Global Garbage Library Research Guide: Find Video

Offering streaming through their Swank Digital Campus service, Swank Motion Pictures is the nontheatrical distributor for the majority of the major Hollywood studios as well as many independent, foreign, art house, and documentary offerings.

Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service. Immediate access is available for several hundred films and requests for additional films for course or research purposes can be placed through the platform.

A streaming video collection of 400 films from Janus Films (The Criterion Collection) available through the Alexander Street Press platform.

Provides streaming access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.

Though its original intent was to "allow billions of people to discover, watch and share originally-created videos," YouTube has become a de facto repository for clips and full-length films of all kinds, including commercial releases. Some material has not been been posted legally, so content can disappear.

Coverage: 1968 to date. Includes individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC’s Nightline. Includes commercials, searchable by brand name. Some broadcasts available via streaming video or transcripts.

Presents hundreds of experiment/avant-garde films & videos in streaming format. International scope.

Contains performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.

From the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA) at University of California, Santa Barbara. This collection of 118 videos contains El Teatro Campesino plays, television specials, concerts, interviews, news footage, commercials, and workshops. The series includes the first known film that has a segment about the Teatro, "Huelga," narrated by Cesar Chavez. Other films range from the early actos to television specials on the movie "Zoot Suit." There are films of scenes from plays and whole plays, interviews with Luis Valdez and others, footage of the twentieth anniversary gala of El Teatro Campesino, and a documentary on the history of the Teatro made in 1981. Finding aid available online.

Provides free unlimited access to movies and new media from Indian Country. This includes SkinsPlex original programming, movies, documentaries, shorts, animation and more. Every month SkinsPlex adds ten new titles from Indigenous filmmakers. Registration required.

Silent Film Online brings together films which represent the basis of modern cinematic technique and film theory. This database covers silent features, serials, and shorts from the 1890s to the 1930s and includes examples of the silent film movement from Germany, Britain, the Soviet Union, and France. The resource complements its feature films with a selection of related documentaries.

Part of the Literature Online (LION) database. Nearly 900 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets’ works. From the main LION screen, click on the Multimedia link.

More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ’80s, ’90s, and ’00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.

Provides streaming access to Time Inc.'s unique and controversial film series, The March of Time, which was shown in movie theaters and on television from 1935-1967. The newsreels have been restored by HBO Archives, allowing viewers to experience these historic newsreels as audiences did in earlier decades.

Contains over a million digital movies including classic full-length films, documentaries, news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, industrial and government films, television shows, and commercials.

Ethnographic Video Online provides the largest, most comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

These presentations on medical and biomedical engineering topics consist of navigable slides with accompanying narration synchronized for ease of listening. All are approximately 40-50 minutes long.

Thousands of video lectures from top scholars at universities like Yale, Princeton, MIT, Stanford, Harvard, etc.

Videos and channels of universities and colleges on YouTube.

Showcases high-definition videos on art. Launched by the Indianapolis Museum of Art.