Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cornucopia of Disability Information (CODI)
From Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi, CODI serves as a community resource for consumers and professionals by providing disability information in a wide variety of areas. It consists of both an Internet Directory of Disability Information and a repository of electronic disability documents, dating back to the early 1990s. Many of the documents on CODI are publicly available nowhere else on the Internet. Areas include education, statistics, government documents, computer access, legal, publications, bibliographic references, aging, assistive technology, universal design and announcements.
Disability and Work (International Labour Organization)
"The ILO has a longstanding commitment to promoting social justice and achieving decent work for people with disabilities. It takes a twin-track approach to disability inclusion. One track allows for disability-specific programmes or initiatives aimed at overcoming particular disadvantages or barriers, while the other track seeks to ensure the inclusion of disabled persons in mainstream services and activities, such as skills training, employment promotion, social protection schemes and poverty reduction strategies."
Disability-Research Discussion List
A mailing list those interested in research as it affects disabled people both in the UK and internationally. It provides a forum for the exchange of ideas, information and news. The site provides subscription information, a searchable archive of postings, and a list of subscribed members.
Disability Rights International
"Disability Rights International is dedicated to promoting the human rights and full participation in society of people with disabilities worldwide."
Global Applied Disability Research and Information (GLADNET)
The Global Applied Disability Research and Information Network is an initiative of the Vocational Rehabilitation Branch of the International Labour Organization. The network brings together research centers, universities, enterprises, government departments, trade unions, and organizations representing disabled persons "for the promotion of research as well as the collection, analysis and international exchange of information.
Global Comparative Legislative Database
UN CRPD and Optional Protocol signatures and ratifications and analysis of employment legislation by country
Human Rights of Persons with Disabilities (UNHR)
Studies, statements, publications, and resources on the international framework for promoting and enforcing the human rights of persons with disabilities.
K. Lisa Yang and Hock E. Tan Institute on Employment and Disability (YTI) (formerly EDI)
Advances policies and practices to enhance opportunities for people with disabilities and ensure their full inclusion in the workplace and in communities. YTI is a leading source of research and information on employment and disability for employers, lawmakers, federal and state agencies, and service providers.
National Institute of Disability Management and Research
A Canadian foundation focusing on workplace-based reintegration, the NIDMAR focuses on education, training, research and policy development. The NIDMAR site includes information on training programs, products and services, as well as links to other sites. In addition, the site provides a listing of the board of directors, and a calendar of events.
Physical Handicaps: A Selective Bibliography
From the Library of Congress, the bibliography includes books, chapters in books, and periodical articles of general interest, most of which have been published since 1997. Each section, where applicable, also includes videos and CD-ROMs. Contact the sources listed for information about the availability of rentals, previews, or purchase. Additional documents such as research publications can be located through indexes such as ERIC, Psychological Abstracts (PsycINFO), and Sociological Abstracts.
Disability Main Page (U.S. Census Bureau)
This site includes data from the Survey of Income and Program Participation,(including statistics on employment and disability), work disability data from the March Current Population Survey, data from the 1990 Census on the characteristics of persons with disabilities by state, metropolitan area, and county, and model-based estimates of the prevalence of specific disabilities for states and counties. Also included are other Census Bureau sites with disability data, and related Internet sites.
Disability Statistics (Employment and Disability Institute, ILR School, Cornell University)
The DisabilityStatistics.org web site condenses several data sources into a single, user-friendly, accessible, Internet resource. It also provides essential background information on key issues related to disability statistics. Registration is FREE. This site is produced by the Cornell Rehabilitation Research and Training Center for Economic Research on Employment Policy for People with Disabilities (RRTC).
State Data Info
Make customized charts of state, national, and individual disability data.
Law and Government
Department of Labor Disability Resources
Several U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) agencies assist people with disabilities in seeking meaningful work and succeeding once on the job. DOL also advises employers on effective strategies for recruiting and retaining qualified people with disabilities, as well as educates federal agencies and federal contractors and sub-contractors about their obligations related to affirmative action and nondiscrimination in hiring.
Office of Disability Employment Policy
The Office of Disability Employment Policy (ODEP) is the only non-regulatory federal agency that promotes policies and coordinates with employers and all levels of government to increase workplace success for people with disabilities.
Disability Discrimination (Equal Employment Opportunity Commission)
EEOC's main page for disability information. The EEOC is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
National Institute on Disability, Independent Living and Rehabilitation Research
The National Institute on Disability, Independent Living and Rehabilitation Research provides leadership and support for a comprehensive program of research related to the rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities. All of our programmatic efforts are aimed at improving the lives of individuals with disabilities from birth through adulthood.
JAN: Americans with Disabilities Act Links
This site, provided bythe Job Accommodation Network, contains links to the ADAlaw, technical assistance manuals, accessibility guidelines, and other ADA sites.
ABA: Commission on Disability Rights
From the American Bar Association's Commission on Mental and Physical Disability Law, this site provides referrals to lawyers that practice disability law, commission news, disability law publications and resources, in addition to the Mental and Physical Disability Law Reporter which covers legislation, Supreme Court decisions, and case law developments.
Cornell Law School: Cornell Legal Information Institute: Disability Law
This site provides a comprehensive starting point for disability law. It contains overviews of the law and links to federal and state laws, regulations, and judicial decisions in disability legal issues.
Disability laws from FEDLAW
This site is a good starting point for all Federal legal research. Choose "Federal Laws and Regulations by subject category" to look at specific employment and labor laws, regulations, and other documents. Also includes links for Federal judiciary, Legislative Branch, Arbitration and Mediation, General Research and reference. The site provides a large number of links to disability law and legislation as well as links to other disability issues and government programs.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. This collection provides the public with access to recent research products produced by the CRS. CRS reports are timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis for committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.
Jobs (Persons with disabilities)
WorkplaceDiversity.com - The Source for Diversity Talent is a career web site for corporate and executive recruiters who want to reach experienced, high caliber diversity candidates. Advanced search technology, insider company research, and award winning career content combine to make this site a long-term professional resource.