Fashion Industry Research
- Gale Business: InsightsExtensive reference content from Gale's core business collection; easy-to-use company fundamentals and investment research reports; industry rankings, profiles, market share data, company histories, and more.
- IBISWorldIBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.
- Business of FashionToday, the website has grown to leverage a network of savvy writers and fashion insiders in style capitals around the world, delivering fashion business intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands that are making their mark on the industry at a time of unprecedented change.
- Mergent IntellectMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B's private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
- American Apparel and Footwear Association (AAFA)A national trade association representing apparel, footwear and other sewn products companies, and their suppliers, which compete in the global market.
- Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA)A not-for-profit trade association founded in 1962, whose membership consists of 477 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers.
- Fair Labor AssociationThis organization is a collaborative effort of socially responsible companies, colleges and universities, and civil society organizations. It aims to end abusive labor practices by offering tools and resources to companies, delivering training to factory workers and management, conducting assessments, and advocating for greater accountability and transparency from companies.
- Fairtrade InternationalThis advocacy organization of 25 organizations works to secure better business conditions for producers. It sets international standards and supports its affiliated producers. The site features a database of minimum fair prices for various commodities, including fiber crops.
- The Fashion LawProvides unique and actionable analysis to business and legal professionals. Well known for helping to shape the dialogue in retail and beyond, we define and decode critical legal and business trends to make companies and their employees more informed and better prepared for the future. Subscription but many articles available for free.
- ILR Global Labor InstituteFormerly the New Conversations Project - is dedicated to independent research and action that measurably improves labor conditions in global supply chains.
- Lifestyle MonitorPublished by Cotton Incorporated, this site presents weekly articles monitoring American attitudes and behavior towards apparel and home furnishings. a Fast Facts section presents statistics survey results.
- National Retail FederationThis is the world’s largest retail trade association, representing retailers of all sizes from the United States and more than 45 countries abroad. Establishments include department stores, specialty, apparel, discount, online, independent, grocery and chain restaurants, among others. The site’s NRF’s Retail Reference Center contains original research, case studies, emerging industry trends, and benchmarking reports.
- Robin ReportThis searchable online newsletter covers marketing and retail trade in the fashion and other industries.
- Sourcing JournalWith more than 55,000 readers, Sourcing Journal is the premiere trade publication for apparel and textile executives focused on sourcing and manufacturing.
- United States Fashion Industry AssociationUSFIA represents brands, retailers, importers, and wholesalers based in the United States and doing business globally. Founded in 1989, USFIA works to eliminate tariff and non-tariff barriers that impede the fashion industry’s ability to trade freely and create jobs in the United States.
- Vogue BusinessOffers a global perspective on the fashion industry, exploring how cultural trends and global patterns will impact fashion businesses. Subscription but many articles available for free.
- WGSN.eduWGSN is an online news and information and fashion images database for the fashion and style industries including fashion forecasting, design, company profiles and news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising and marketing. Includes WGSN Insight, WGSN Fashion, and WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors. NOTE: Must create a free account in order to log in and access this site. Accounts last 90 days and are renewable. Accounts must be created from an on-campus computer.
Market Research Resources
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
- EIU.comEconomic, demographic, consumption and industry data on 60 major countries worldwide and 11 regional aggregates. Included are detailed economic and industry forecasts for the next five years and longer-term economic projections.
- Export.govExport.gov Helps American Companies Succeed Globally
Export.gov brings together resources from across the U.S. Government to assist American businesses in planning their international sales strategies and succeed in today’s global marketp
- PassportExcellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.
- Mintel AcademicOffers yearly market research reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more.
Historical Archive Information
- Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & ArchivesThe Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives is located in the Industrial and Labor Relations Library. Its purpose is the preservation of original source materials relevant to the history of American labor unions, management theory as it applies to labor and industrial relations, and the history of employees at the workplace.