Management Library

We are pleased to invite you to use the range of services and resources offered by the Management Library. Our dedicated team is “proud to be your research partner." We support Johnson, Cornell Tech, the Cornell SC Johnson College of Business, and the greater business research community at Cornell. Our subject experts provide research assistance in person, by email mgtref@cornell.edu, by phone (607-255-3389), or via web-conferencing.  We offer individualized consultations and  prepare customized training sessions covering course-specific, job search, and general business research skills. The library offers customized research assistance to provide students with the business research skills they will need - at Cornell and throughout their careers.

Whether you're looking for information for a course assignment, preparing for an interview, or creating a pitch for a new venture, our award-winning staff have the expertise to connect you with the best data and analysis. Contact us to learn how to use our top industry and corporate tools (such as Bloomberg and Capital IQ), find SWOTs and analyst reports,  and develop research strategies for market, industry, and financial research.

We strive every day to positively impact Cornell scholars' academic business research. Do not hesitate to contact us with questions or comments. Your feedback is crucial to help the Management Library team innovate and serve the changing needs of today’s business researcher. If we have not yet worked with you, we look forward to in the future!

Sage Hall, Johnson School of Management

Scroll down for

Career Resources

Company Research

Finance and VC

Market Research

Popular Resources

Research Industries

 

Popular Resources

Below are a selection of the best resources for research in business and entrepreneurship. There are many more accessible via the homepage of the Management Library. You can also contact us for more help via email

Access to thousands of trade and academic journals as well as industry research.

The latest news from newswires and the business press worldwide. Search builder allows for refined queries.

Public and private firms are profiled. Easily screen for companies and transactions. Requires registration for an account.

Venture capital and angel investment database.

Use Orbis to find, analyze, and compare companies.

Access to technical and industry insights for emerging tech across 11 sectors.

Provides overviews for more than 700 industries in the U.S. and include cover competitive landscape, products, markets, and forecasts.


Create an individual account for Wall Street Journal and FT.com.


NYC Campus limitations:

Note that the some library resources are only available on the Ithaca campus, this includes some real estate and finance resources. Please contact us if you have any questions or need assistance accessing a library resource.

Researching Companies

Depending on the sort of company research you are doing, you may want to use a range of databases. Generally, Mergent Intellect is a great starting point for researching companies as it contains both public and private companies and has industry profiles linked from most company profiles. If the company is publicly traded, Bloomberg and Capital IQ are excellent places to find financials, filings, and information on recent deals.

Includes scholarly journals, business periodicals, trade journals, industry reports, and related information. It also provide access to industry, market, and company research which often contain SWOT (Strengths Weaknesses Opportunities and Threats) analysis of larger companies.

Use for researching public and privately held companies, transactions, and professionals worldwide. User need to register to obtain a Capital IQ account.

Search thousands of full-text newspapers and business periodicals to find articles about a company, interviews and quotes form company officials.

Covers over 10,000 US public companies and includes their SEC filings with valuable financial information. Some international company coverage is also included. Access to current and historical annual reports for US and international public companies. Also provides peer group comparisons and "as-reported" financial statements.

Public companies are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. In the US, these filings are available directly from the Securities and Exchange Commission, or via the selected databases listed above.

Visit our company research pages to find more databases providing financials, history, ownership, transactions, recent news, and similar information for companies.

Career Research

 

We can help you navigate the best research sources and strategies for your job search. Your enrollment in the Cornell Tech MBA program gives you access to a wide array of career planning resources.

  • Vault provides information specific job roles and industries. The Vault Guides to Jobs series is ideal for learning about careers and include information on the work environment, education requirements, a typical day in the life, and career outlook.
  • Lynda.com coffers 2,500 detailed courses with over 80,000 high-quality instructional videos on the latest software, creative, and business skills for people at all experience levels. Login with the organizational account by entering www.cornell.edu and then following the Cornell prompt for NetID and password.
  • ERI Salary Reports provide individualized salary and benefits statistics based on job role, industry, location, years of experience, and size of company.

Contact us for help with your career research needs, such as assistance research companies for interview prep and networking, or finding recent news and trends in your industry.

Finance and Venture Capital

In addition to Bloomberg and Capital IQ, Cornell Tech students have access to CB Insights as a finance and VC resource.

A venture capital and angel investment database that provides daily real-time information about venture capital and angel investor-backed start-up companies, VC firms, angel investors, and transactions in the United States. It includes detailed analyses related to venture capital, private equity and angel investment on a regular basis, including an in-depth quarterly venture capital report.

Visit the Management Library’s  finance research page for more databases, guides and FAQs.

Industry Research

Find industry trends, analyst reports, concerns, and major players via industry and association resources.

Associations often provide free industry data and white papers that cover important regulatory and market trends. Use this for finding the associations that you should be looking at.

More than 900 industry and country reports by BMI are available via ProQuest. Search the Advanced Search screen with pb("business monitor international") to limit results.

Capital IQ includes industry surveys (trends, operations, industry specific information on analyzing companies it that space, and ratios) and high-level overviews of industries, financial markets, and regional economies. Ideal for researching companies (both public and private), deals (M&A and security issuance), and private equity and venture capital deals.

First Research industry profiles include industry trends, benchmark data, and call prep questions.. You can find these reports in Mergent Intellect and ProQuest.

In-depth market research and strategy reports with European and global coverage of the following areas: Aerospace & Defense; Automotive & Transportation; Chemicals, Materials and Food; Electronics & Security; Energy & Power Supplies; Environment & Building Technologies; Healthcare; Industrial Automation & Process Control; Information & Communication Technologies; Measurement & Instrumentation. Covers 1998 to present, updated as new reports are produced.

IBISWorld provides industry research reports and profiles for over 700 United States industries as well as a wide range of industries in China. Business reports for five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data. Each report provides key statistics, market characteristics and segmentation, industry conditions, leading competitors, industry performance analysis and future outlook.‚Äč

Visit the Management Library’s  industry research page for more databases, guides and FAQs.

Market Research Resources

Use the following resources to find market research reports, market share, identify competitors, and much more.

Use EIU.com when doing research on countries other than the U.S. or when comparing multiple countries. City Data, Country Data, Country Reports, Market Indicators and Forecast.

Mergent Intellect offers access to private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. Databases cover 245 million global private businesses, more than 70 million US private businesses and 6,500 public companies.

Offers yearly market research reports covering UK, Europe, US and International consumer markets for products, markets and demographics. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more.

Excellent resource for international industries, countries, markets, and products. Market research reports, statistics, and analyst reports cover consumer market sizes, country market data, forecasts, consumer lifestyles, companies and brands, and many product & location specific reports.

SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that allows you to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Excellent source for locating demographic and marketing data for specific geographic locations.

Free access to: over 168,000 companies; 68,000 product and service categories; thousands of online suppliers catalogs and web site links.

Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on more than 600 industries.

Visit the Management Library’s  market research page for more databases, guides and FAQs.