Skip to main content
Cornell University

Book Reviews: A Finding Guide: Resources by Date

Access to critical reviews of thousands of books.

Chronological List of Book Review Resources

  • 1665 or later to the "moving wall" -- JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive.
  • 1749 to 1800. -- Index to Book Reviews in England. (Olin Ref AI 3 .F73)
  • 1770 to 1993. -- Periodicals Index Online.
  • 1800 to 1900. -- The Literary [and Historical] Index to American Literary Magazines. (Olin Ref Z 1225 .W38x)
  • 1886 to 1974. -- Combined Retrospective Index to Scholarly Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals, 1886-1974. (Olin Ref AI 3 .C73)
  • 1890 to 1982. -- Reader's Guide Retrospective.
  • 1900 to 1943. -- Bibliographie der Rezensionen. (Olin + AI 9 .B583)
  • Circa 1900 to date. -- Articles & Full Text.
  • 1905 to 1982. -- Book Review Digest. (Olin Ref Z 1219 .B72) (print version)
  • 1920 to date. -- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
  • 1923 to 1979. -- Science Fiction Book Review Index. (Olin Ref Z 5917 .S36 H17 and Z 5917 .S36 H171)
  • 1945, 1956, or 1975 to date. -- Web of Science: Science, Social Sciences, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
  • 1949 to date. -- ATLA Religion Database.
  • 1954 to date. -- America: History & Life.
  • 1960-1990. -- Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. (Olin Ref AI 3 .I367)
  • 1964-1974. -- Book Review Index to Social Science Periodicals. (Olin Ref AI 3 .I3671)
  • 1965-1970. -- Index to Australian Book Reviews. (Uris Stacks Periodicals Oversize Z 4011 .I38)
  • 1965 to date. -- Book Review Index. (Olin Ref Z 1219 .B721)
  • 1968 to 1985, 1987-1988. -- Referencias críticas sobre autores chilenos. (Uris Stacks Z 1701 .R33)
  • 1970 to date. -- American Reference Books Annual. (Uris Stacks Periodicals Z 1035.1 .A55; latest volume in Olin Ref)
  • 1971 to date. -- Internationale Bibliographie der Rezensionen geistes- und sozialwissenschaftlicher Literatur = International bibliography of book reviews of scholarly literature on the humanities and social sciences. [aka IBR] (Olin + AI 9 .I612, latest 5 volumes in Reference)
  • 1972 to 1977. -- Book Reviews in Historical Periodicals. (Uris Stacks Z 6205 .I38)
  • 1973 to 1995. -- French Periodical Index. (Olin Ref AI 7 .F87)
  • 1975 to date with significant earlier coverage. -- Academic Search Premier.
  • 1976 to 1982. -- Current Book Review Citations. (Olin Ref Z 1219 .C98)
  • 1983 to date. -- IBR: International Bibliography of Book Reviews. (online version)
  • 1986 to date. -- ProQuest Research Library.
  • 1993 or later to date. -- Project MUSE.
  • Currently in print. -- Bowker's Books in Print; Amazon.com
Web Accessibility Assistance
Cornell Votes! Every Person. Every Voice.