Citation Management Software

Organize and Cite Easily with Citation Managers

Save time and cite properly!

Citation management programs are like EasyBib or NoodleTools on steroids and allow you to easily collect, manage, and organize your citations and work with databases (and often Word or other word processors), making it easy to import references and incorporate them into your writing, properly formatted in the style of your choice. 

From the programs that Cornell supports, you can use EndNote, Zotero, and Mendeley.

  • EndNote is available for purchase at the Cornell Store. Two Cornell colleges offer their communities free access to Endnote via site license: Human Ecology and Agriculture & Life Sciences.
  • Zotero and Mendeley are free and open source programs.

For more information on citation tools, citation management, and available workshops, see the Citation Management page on the Library site.

Keep Up on Literature in Your Field: Current Awareness Tools

 JournalTOCS - One-stop shopping for Tables of Contents. 

Use this service tokeep up-to-date with new publications by browsing, viewing, saving, and searching across thousands of journal tables of contents (TOCs) from hundreds of publishers. Free registration allows you to create a customized list of your most important and favorite journals, and includes export options such as email alerts, RSS feeds, formats for bibliographic managers, and customizable API for web pages. Note: there is a limit of 30 journal titles that can be followed.

Publishers' and Database Alerts

Journal publishers allow you to set up alerts in order to get ongoing emails about new published articles and databases often offer free registration, which provides access to features such as saved searches, email alerts when new material matching your search is added to the database, and more. Some may require free registration on the publisher's website or through databases like Web of Science.

 

New Books at CUL

Find out what books, e-books, and other monographs that have recently been added to the Cornell University Library collections. You can create RSS feeds for your custom list, which will be updated automatically each month.