Careers/Internship Search: Company Research

Searchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

Research Insights (or Business Managment Research) is a searchable database of full-text research reports on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. Proprietary, nonbiased research includes studies of F500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, CRM and more. Economics material includes US and global economic indicators and analysis and forecasts of regional, national, and international economic conditions.

All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database. Filings cover 1996-present.

Online index of market research service providers and the markets they serve.

The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years and includes information on job descriptions, training, education, earnings, job prospects, working conditions.

A free guide to industry information, research, and analysis for over 400 industries

An alternative to Yahoo! Finance. Tool to analyze stocks, markets, and currencies internationally. Compare stock prices of any public company to Google's list of top competitors. Create custom graphs of historical pricing.

See also INDUSTRY CENTER
http://biz.yahoo.com/ic/ind_index.html

The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the enforcement of trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS, pronounced Nakes) was developed as the standard for use by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the collection, analysis, and publication of statistical data related to the business economy of the U.S. NAICS was developed under the auspices of the Office of Management and Budget (OMB), and adopted in 1997 to replace the old Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system. I

ILR Reference HA 40 I6 U63
Springfield, Va.: Office of Management and Budget. NTIS, 1987.
Provides standardized reference numbers used by the Census Bureau and the federal government to classify and report on businesses by type of 1987 activity.

CARDS is a searchable database which includes franchise agreements and annual reports for many major US franchisors maintained by the Minnesota Department of Commerce.

FT.com is an international business and finance news web site that is associated with the London based financial newspaper, Financial Times. Current Cornell community can create a personalized account, using Cornell e-mail address.

Current Cornell community members can create an individual account to the Wall Street Journal on-line, using their Cornell NetID. Access made possible by a partnership between the Student Assembly and Cornell University Library.

The Wall Street Journal is U.S. business-focused, English-language international daily newspaper published by Dow Jones.

ABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. Also known as ProQuest.

BNA's signature newsletter. Covers labor developments. Available also in print at the Catherwood Library.

Get links to Bloomberg news stories describing the latest employment verdicts and settlements.

News for Human Resources practitioners from Bloomberg Law.

New developments in occupational safety.