Education: Reference Sources

Presents the social and cultural history of childhood from antiquity to the present. Children and Childhood examines this history through articles on education, parenting, child labor, economics, images of childhood, children's literature, play, toys and games, health, physiology, law, the criminal justice system and social welfare. Comparative articles include information about childhood in cultures throughout the world.

Encyclopedia of Diversity in Education (4 volumes, in both print and electronic formats) will present research and statistics, case studies, and best practices, policies, and programs at pre- and postsecondary levels. Diversity is a worldwide phenomenon, and while most of the entries in the Encyclopedia will focus on the United States, diversity issues and developments in nations around the world, including the United States, are intricately connected.

With nearly 450 entries, these two-volumes are the first reference work to bring the strands of reform and reformers, dissent and dissenters, together in one place as a resource for scholars, teachers, policymakers, parents, and students, including those who are studying to enter the teaching profession.

Part of the Sage Reference Online collection.
Provides a comprehensive introduction to the social and cultural foundations of education. Focuses on issues such as race, gender, socioeconomic class, the impact of technology on learning, what it means to be educated, and the role of teaching and learning in a societal context.

This book is a state-of-the-art reference work that defines and frames the state of thinking, research and practice in indigenous education. The book provides an authoritative overview of the subject in one text.

This handbook unifies access and opportunity, two key concepts of sociology of education, throughout its 25 chapters. It explores today's populations rarely noticed, such as undocumented students, first generation college students, and LGBTQs; and emphasizing the intersectionality of gender, race, ethnicity and social class. Sociologists often center their work on the sources and consequences of inequality. This handbook, while reviewing many of these explanations, takes a different approach, concentrating instead on what needs to be accomplished to reduce inequality.

This encyclopedia is the most current and exhaustive reference available on international education. It provides thorough, up-to-date coverage of key topics, concepts, and issues, as well as in-depth studies of national educational systems throughout the world.

This book offers a research and comparison-driven look at the school-to-prison pipeline, its racial dynamics, the connections to mass incarceration, and our flawed educational climate--and suggests practical remedies for change.

This second handbook focuses on factors such as social stratification, segmentation, segregation, racialization, urbanization, class formation and maintenance, and patriarchy. The central concern is to explore how equity plays out for those traditionally marginalized in urban schools in different locations around the globe.

Part of the Sage Reference Online Collection
Over 300 articles introduce the social constructions of educational systems and their many players, including students and their peers, teachers, parents, the broader community, politicians and policy makers. Roles of schools, social processes governing schooling, and impacts on society are critically explored.

Provides details on a wide range of topics and issues. National and international perspectives and studies, as well as controversial points in education today, including gender inequality, globalization, minorities, meritocracy, and more.

Mann Library Reference (Non-Circulating)

Mann Library Reference (Non-Circulating)