Reference Sources in British Theatre
Annals of English Drama, 975-1700Call Number: Uris Z2014 D7 H25 1989+ (A.D. White Library)Publication Date: 3rd ed., Routledge, 1989.An analytical record of all plays, extinct or lost, chronologically arranged and indexed by authors, titles and dramatic companies. Provides chronological listing of plays, masques, and similar forms of entertainment devised in England from the tenth century through the death of Dryden in 1700. Earlier editions also shelved in Uris.
British Playwrights, 1880-1956Call Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR736 B861 1996Publication Date: Greenwood Press, 1996This reference profiles the life and work of some 40 British playwrights active during the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Included are figures such as W. H. Auden, Max Beerbohm, Noel Coward, T. S. Eliot, John Galsworthy, Graham Greene, D. H. Lawrence, W. Somerset Maugham, George Bernard Shaw, and Oscar Wilde. Each entry provides a biographical overview; a list of major plays and summaries of their critical reception; a list of minor plays, adaptations, and productions; an assessment of the playwright's career; and archival and bibliographical information.
British Playwrights, 1956-1995 by Publication Date: Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.Continuation of the volume listed above.
Cambridge History of British TheatreCall Number: Print oopy: Olin Library stacks PN2581 C36 2004Publication Date: Cambridge University Press, 2004.Three volume set covering the history of theatrical performance in Britain. v1 - Origins to 1660; v2 - 1660-1895; v3- since 1895. E-version available in Cambridge Histories Online.London Stage - A Calendar of Plays, Entertainment and Afterpieces Together with Casts, Box-Reciepts and Contemporary Comment, 1660-1800
Call Number: Library Annex PN2592 L841Publication Date: Southern Illinois University Press, 1960-1968. 5 vols.Includes bibliographies. Contents: pt. 1. 1660-1700, edited by W. Van Lennep, with a critical introd. by E. L. Avery and A. H. Scouten.--pt. 2. 1700-1729, edited with a critical introd. by E. L. Avery. 2 v.--pt. 3. 1729-1747, edited with a critical introd. by A. H. Scouten. 2 v.--pt. 4. 1747-1776, edited with a critical introd. by G. W. Stone. 3 v.--pt. 5. 1776-1800, edited with a critical introd. by C. B. Hogan, 3. v. (pt. 5 available online)The London Stage, 1890-1959: a Calendar of Plays and Players by
Call Number: Olin Library Stacks, volumes listed below:Publication Date: Metuchen, N.J.: Scarecrow Press, 1976-93, 2013-14Multi-volume set detailing the "vital statistics" of the London stage from 1890 through 1959 in ten-year ranges, as follows:
1890-1899 - Olin PN2596 L6 W37 2013+ (2nd ed.)
1900-1909 - Olin PN2596 L6 W38 2014+ (2nd ed.)
1910-1919 - Olin PN2596 L6 W362 2014+(2nd ed.)
1920-1929 - Olin PN2596.L6 W384 2014+ (2nd ed.)
1930-1939 - Olin PN2596 L6 W364 1990 (1st ed.)
1940-1949 - Olin PN2596.L6 W3846 2014+ (2nd ed.)
1950-1959 - Olin PN2596.L6 W3847 2014+ (2nd ed.)
The London Stage, 1890-1959: Accumulated Indexes by Call Number: Olin Reference PN2596 L6 W38475 2014Publication Date: Roman & Littlefield, 2014The London Stage 1890 1959: Accumulated Indexes combines all of the indexes for the volumes listed above into one comprehensive, 2 volume resource.
Oxford Encyclopedia of British LiteratureCall Number: Print copy: Olin Reference PR19 O95 2006Publication Date: Oxford University Press, c2006. 5 vols."Covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantial essays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading of literature was significant." (publisher)
Oxford Dictionary of Original Shakespearean PronunciationCall Number: Print copy: Olin stacks PR2892 .C77 2016+Publication Date: Oxford UP, 2016Includes all the words in the First Folio, transcribed using IPA, and provides sound files as an additional aid to pronunciation. It also details the main pronunciation evidence in the texts, notably all spelling variants and rhymes.
