LibGuides: ILRGL 3895/5895 From Luddites to Silicon Valley: The Politics of Tech and Work: Statistics & Data

Finding Statistics

Statistics are published on the web and in print publications. Publishers include the federal government, state governments, foreign governments, international agencies, private entities, and membership organizations. Recording of statistics is sometimes mandated by law, but in other instances, it is entirely voluntary. Even required government statistics often change over the years. Statistics are not always published and raw data and data sets are not always accessible. Finally, there may be hefty fees for some statistics!

The best strategy for finding statistics is to identify the stakeholders (governments, companies, organizations) and do a thorough search of their publications and Internet pages. The resources below are good places to start you statistical research.

Data & Reproduction Archive (Cornell Center for Social Science)
The Cornell Center for Social Science (CCSS) houses the Data & Reproduction Archive, started by the former Cornell Institute for Social and Economic Research (CISER) in 1982. This extensive data collection emphasizes political and social behavior, demography, economics, and health. The collection includes federal and state census files, administrative records, public opinion surveys, and economic and social data from national and international organizations, along with studies compiled by individual researchers.
Data.gov
Excellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
Federal Committee on Statistical Methodology (FCSM)
A major portal for U. S. government statistics. The FCSM compiles, assesses, and disseminates information on statistical or survey methods and practices for Federal statistical agencies.
International Statistical Agencies
Comprehensive list by country, compiled by the U. S. Census Bureau. NOTE: Scroll to bottom of web page for the list.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data begins in 2013. For historical data, see separate listing, hosted by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Statista
Statista provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

U.S. Data and Statistics
Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data.
Wolfram Alpha
Enter your question or calculation, and Wolfram|Alpha uses its built-in algorithms and a growing collection of data to compute the answer.

Data Sets

CEIC Data Manager
CEIC Data contains economic, industrial and financial time-series data. Our Global Database offers unprecedented coverage of 221 countries in Asia, Europe and Central Asia, Middle East, Africa and the Americas. EIC also offers 18 macro-economic concepts, and 1,400,000 time series. Data comes from analysts on the ground and the prime national and regional statistical agencies and major industrial data issuing organizations of each country covered. The CEIC Data Manager provides access to the entire CEIC database from within the Microsoft Excel spreadsheet application. Times-series can be directly retrieved from the database and imported into Excel for quick analysis.

Data.gov
Excellent and growing source for raw data, including 5 pages on data sets on labor and employment.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Cornell is a member institution. After registering, Cornell users can view and download over 500,000 digital data files, including many relating to labor, organizational behavior, and public policy. The data sets are often connected with academic studies. This resource is well worth a detailed look.
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
The page provides various ways to access BLS data.
ILO Statistical Data, Union
(Information about database. Database must be requested.) The ILO has created a database on trade union membership. It contains data for 45 countries from 1990-Available in Excel files on request from the ILO Bureau of Statistics.
Data Access Tools from the Census
Provides links to the various tools that can be used to access and manipulate Census data.
Complete World Development Report Online
A new online, open access, collection of all World Development Reports since 1978 was launched today by the World Bank. The Complete World Development Report Online, which allows users to easily access and search across these World Bank annual flagship publications, is free and open to the public.
EIU Viewpoint
From the Economist Intelligence Unit, providing information on the business, economic, and political environment for nearly 200 countries. Detailed reviews and analysis of political and economic events, with a 1-2 year political outlook and economic projection. Formerly called EIU.com.
Employment Research Data Center (W.E. Upjohn Institute)
The Upjohn Institute serves as the data repository for many research and evaluation projects sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Data from these projects (along with specific information related to the data) and final reports are offered via download at no charge.
Google Public Data
Another site to watch. Google is adding new public data every week.

Roper Center For Public Opinion Research
A nonprofit education and research organization and data repository located at the University of Connecticut. Provides a history of the Center and information on the development and methodology of public opinion polling. Maintains a data archive of public opinion polls conducted or sponsored by major polling, media, and public policy organizations such as Gallup, Roper, ABC, CBS, CNN, NBC, Pew Research Centers, New York Times, USA Today and Wall Street Journal. The data held range from the 1930s to the present. Most of the data are from the United States, but over 50 nations are represented. The iPOLL databank offers access to nearly half a million survey questions and answers asked in the US by more than 150 survey organizations.Direct links are given to study documentation and datasets ready for instant access and express downloading through RoperExpress.

SourceOECD
SourceOECD is the online publications portal of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. SourceOECD, when complete, will comprise 19 Studies by Themes, containing all our monographs and reports; 19 periodicals online; some reference titles online; and the OECD statistical databases online.
General Social Survey
GSS "conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations. Contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies.

Regional Economic Data Toolkit
The Regional Economic Data Toolkit brings together four searchable and downloadable U.S. datasets: Cost of living index, state incentives, state expenditures, and economic diversity index. Created by the Council for Community and Economic Research. The Cost of living index portion replaces our print subscription to the ACCRA cost of living index.

U. S. Government Statistics

U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis

Economic Report of the President (Council of Economic Advisors)
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices. Current and previous years are provided.
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Statistics
Find employment diversity statistics as well as statistics on EEOC enforcement.
Federal Reserve System, Economic Research and Data
Find stats on industrial production, consumer credit, exchange rate, international activities from the FED.
Immigration Statistics (Department of Homeland Security)
The Department of Homeland Security provides statistics on legal permanent residents, naturalized citizens, refugees, and immigration law enforcement.
IRS Tax Statistics
Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.
National Center for Education Statistics
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences, is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. See its Digest of Education for stats relating to primary-university education.
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics' is the Nation’s principal health statistics agency; they compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the Nation’s people.
Statistics and Data, Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA has statistics on workplace injury, illness and fatalities. It also provides establishment-level stats on inspections and investigations. The latter is a good place to find out whether an establishment is unionized. See the A to Z guide for statistics.
Social Security Administration Program Statistics and Data Files
Find information on health, disability, social security payments, trust funds, as well as international information.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.
UnionReports.gov (U.S. Office of Labor Management Standards)
Source for information on membership and finances of individual unions. From the U. S. Department of Labor.
Annual Reports (National Labor Relations Board)
Find summary statistics on NLRB activity, including decisions, court reviews, elections, unfair labor practices, etc.. (from 1936-2009)
U.S. Department of Labor Statistics Page
Provides suggestions for finding labor-related statistics from the DOL and other government agencies.
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.