Essentials
-
Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the 21st century.
-
America History and LifeArticles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.
-
Chicano databaseCovers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
-
HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)Information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States.
-
Black Studies CenterIncludes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
-
BAS - Bibliography of Asian StudiesIdentifies articles, essays, chapters and monographs on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.
-
Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaCovers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. This resource covers a wide range of topics including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend, and literacy from the 16th century to the present.
-
Index IslamicusCovers worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Contains scholarship written 1906 – present.
-
Africa WideAfrica-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present.
-
Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesArticles and books.
-
Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
-
JSTORSelected journals; does not include recent articles.
-
Project MUSESelected journals.
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.