How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Specialized Article Databases
-
Articles & Full TextScholarly journal articles (as well as non-scholarly sources), many available as pdfs. Use filters to narrow and focus results. When the article is not visible as a PDF, use Get it Cornell or Ask a Librarian to find it.
-
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsThe Avery periodical index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
-
EBSCO Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
-
Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.
-
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveExcludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.
-
Project MuseCompanion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years.
-
Proquest Dissertations and ThesesNorth American. 1861 to the present. Many full text online. Others available through ILL.
-
Web of ScienceIncludes Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Citation Index. A multidisciplinary index to over 1200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. Allows tracking of cited references.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar does this as well, but appears to include all citing sources, whether or not they have been published through the peer-review process.
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
