Essentials
-
RAMBI: Index of Articles on Jewish Studies = Reshimat maamarim be-madae ha-YahadutCover all important articles relevant to Judaic studies.
-
America History and LifeArticles, books, dissertations on United States and Canadian history from pre-history to the 21st century.
-
Historical AbstractsArticles, books, dissertations on the history of the world since 1450.
-
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal ArchiveExcludes 3-5 years most recent articles. ALL JSTOR journals included in America History and Life/Historical Abstracts.
-
Project MuseCompanion to JSTOR with 3-5 most recent years.
-
Web of ScienceIncludes Arts and Humanities and Social Sciences Citation Index. A multidisciplinary index to over 1200 leading international arts and humanities journals. It includes journal articles, letters, editorials, notes, meeting abstracts, discussions, poems, short stories, plays, musical scores, excerpts from books, and bibliographies. Allows tracking of cited references.
-
EBSCO Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
Medieval Studies Articles
-
MLA International BibliographyArticles, chapters in books, and books on all aspects of literature.
-
International Medieval Bibliography OnlineCovers all aspects of the European Middle Ages including literature, history, archaeology, etc. Articles, chapters in books, books, etc.
-
FeminaeAn index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
-
JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
-
Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
-
Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Good for book reviews. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate an item.
-
[Proquest] Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
Art & Architecture
-
Avery Index to Architectural PeriodicalsIndex to articles and books about architecture.
-
Art Full TextIndexes articles and books on antiques, archaeology, architectural history, art history, crafts, decorative arts, etc.
Articles & Full text
Search a number of databases at one time by going to the Articles & Full Text link on the library homepage, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Articles & Full Text searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print b
ooks and other physical items).
Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, this system doesn't search all library resources. For comprehensive, or focused searching, go to the Databases link to find subject-specific databases.
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar does this as well, but appears to include all citing sources, whether or not they have been published through the peer-review process.
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
