Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies and Handbooks
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): Classics, Archaeology and moreHighly recommended. Critical annotated bibliographies. In progress.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Resaerch Reviews (OHO)Scholarly research reviews in article format from the extensive collection of Oxford Handbooks covering psychology. Use the "Browse by Subject" function for more specific results.
Archaeology and Rome
The Cambridge Companion to Ancient RomePublication Date: 2013Explores Rome primarily as a city in which many thousands of men and women were born, lived and died. The thirty-one chapters by leading historians, classicists and archaeologists discuss issues ranging from the monuments and the games to the food and water supply, from policing and riots to domestic housing, from death and disease to pagan cults and the impact of Christianity. Richly illustrated, the volume introduces groundbreaking new research against the background of current debates.
- Oxford Art OnlineExcellent articles and images.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th edition.Much more than a dictionary. An excellent source for sources on all aspects of the Classical World.
- Brill's New PaulyAn aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Entries offer easy, direct access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects - from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbours and heirs.
The Encyclopedia of Archaeological SciencesPublication Date: 2019Covers emerging trends and foundational theories of archaeological science, offering a reliable reference on current techniques and practices.
Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityPublication Date: 1999
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by Publication Date: 2014-
Understanding Pottery FunctionPublication Date: 2012Focuses on how practicing archaeologists can infer function from ceramics.
Environmental ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2012Surveys the complex and technical field of environmental archaeology for researchers interested in the causes, consequences and potential future impact of environmental change and archaeology.
Bioarchaeology: an integrated approach to working with human remainsPublication Date: 2013Bioarchaeology is the analysis of human remains within an interpretative framework that includes contextual information. This comprehensive and much-needed manual provides both a starting point and a reference for archaeologists, bioarchaeologists and others working in this integrative field.
Classics Citation Abbreviations
In Classics scholarship, titles of journals as well as Classical texts are often highly abbreviated.
