Climate Jobs: News Sources

Latest news and headlines related to renewable energy on CNBC.

Provides access to Renewable Energy-focused news, case studies, technology trends, markets, companies and so much more.

Top headlines and breaking news on ScienceDaily

Page listing renewable energy news and updates, published by US News.

Database.
Access funded by the Library.
Coverage and format: Current, from roughly the mid-1980s on (start dates vary widely). Over 7,000 newspapers (50/50 international and U.S.) and newswires, including some web-only titles. Mainly plain text, but 100+ titles are now available in color PDFs.

News service.
See the About page for additional information.

Database.
Access funded by the Library.
Scroll down to view The Newsstand: US section on the Factiva home page. Use sources in this column to browse the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, plain text (no graphics)—The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition), and Washington Post from the print editions.
Access limited to 10 simultaneous users.

Access funded by the Library and the S C Johnson College of Business.
Online website of the Financial Times.
Go to the library catalog record and follow the link to set up your free account. All faculty, students, and staff have access.The default edition is the "International Edition." You can switch to the UK Edition on the ft.com homepage.

Aggregates all the ProQuest Newsstream databases in one searchable interface, including U.S. Newsstream with all regional Newsstreams, Canadian Newsstream, and International Newsstream (Asian, Australian & New Zealand, European, Latin American, and Middle Eastern & African).
Current, searchable full-text access to five major U.S. daily newspapers (Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post) is now available in the U.S. Major Dailies database, a subset of Global Newsstream. See more details in the U.S. Major Dailies entry below.
Coverage and format: 1980s to date. Plain text.

Database.
Access funded by the Library.
Full-color, full-text online versions of a few major print newspaper titles, plus over 700 magazine and news titles from 55 countries. More frequently-used sources are usually displayed first. Use discretion in picking from these news sources; many popular magazines and non-news sources are included. NB: The last 90 days is available with some exceptions.

Nonprofit news source. News articles available online.
See About NPR for more information.

Cornell undergraduates can sign in here for unlimited, free access to nytimes.com, funded by the Student Assembly.
Law School students, faculty, and staff have access funded by the Law Library.
New York Times articles can also be accessed online by all Cornell students, faculty and staff via the U.S. Major Dailies database provided by the library.

Database.
Access funded by the Library.
Over 15,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

Nonprofit news source.
More information at ProPublica's About page.

Full coverage for 31 titles (plus five multi-title regional newspaper collections) starting from either 1/1/2008, 1/1/2009, 1/1/2010, or 1/1/2011, and ending "within days of the current issue." Primarily publisher PDFs backed by full text searching of OCRed text with some searching of publisher's text feed for the newest issues.

Access funded by the Library.
A subset of ProQuest's Global Newsstream database. Current, plain-text access back to 1980 for The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune. Replaces Factiva as the go-to database for access to current and recent articles in these titles

ProQuest. Subscription.
Coverage varies by title: 1980s to date. Plain text.
About 100 current newspaper titles from Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont plus additional non-newspaper titles.

Access funded by the Library and the Johnson School.
Online website of the Wall Street Journal. Available free to all Cornell faculty, staff, and students. To set up free access, go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/cornelluniversity and register. Select your account type from the drop-down menu, add a password, and agree to the Privacy Policy. Then click Create and you have access. All faculty, students, and staff at Cornell.

Paywall situation: Free access is limited to a few articles per month for nonsubscribers. Alternative access for current news: Articles from the last 2 weeks in plain text format are on Factiva’s Newsstand: U.S. box on the home page (see the Factiva entry above).

Access funded by the Library.
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.

A European press review with English, German, and French summaries for 28 European countries. Text is the translated lead paragraph of the article. Some entries link to the full text online in original language and some only to the source news site. The euro|topics Media page links to country-by-country and title-by-title reviews of the European press.

A daily selection of articles from news sources (print, radio and television media) and newsletters appearing in 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. English translations from Arabic and Farsi. Added links to current source home page when available.