Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Oxford Reference
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)Annotated bibliographies of primary and secondary sources written by top scholars in the field.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias (OREs)Extremely high quality set of online encyclopedias covering all disciplines, time periods, global in coverage.
- Oxford Very Short Introductions Online100 page introductions (with blbliography) on topics in Arts, Humanities, Medicine, Health, Sciences, Mathematics, Social sciences, and Law.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
Biography
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography. The standard work for the British Isles and the British Empire.
- American National Biography. Excellent source of American biography.
Cambridge Histories
- Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Selected History Encycclopedias
- Encyclopedia of European Social History: From 1350 To 2000
- Encyclopedia of the North American colonies.(Olin Library Reference + E45 .E56). 3 volumes.
- Colonial wars of North America, 1512-1763: an encyclopedia. (Olin Library Oversize E46.5 .C65x 1996+)
- Transatlantic Relations Series (Olin Library Reference E18):
- France and the Americas
- Iberia and the Americas
- Britain and the Americas
- Ireland and the Americas
- The Encyclopedia of colonial and revolutionary America. (Olin Library E188 .E56+). Some major articles and about 1500 short entries alphabetically arranged. Covers Norse exploration to the end of the Revolution, emphasis is on the English-speaking colonies. Includes suggestions for further reading.
- Encyclopedia of American cultural & intellectual history. (Olin Library Reference E169.1 .E624x 2001)
- Encyclopedia of American Social History. (Olin Library Reference HN 57 .E56 1992)
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
