Food-Focused Reference Works
Use these dictionaries and encyclopedias to learn the language of cooking and food culture writing, and to grasp the general background regarding issues of importance in this field of inquiry.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues by Ken Albala
ISBN: 9781452243016
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Food Issues explores the topic of food across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas including business, consumerism, marketing, and environmentalism.
- Fast food and Junk Food: an Encyclopedia of What We Love to Eat
Available in full-text online. Junk food and fast food have come to play an extremely important role in American economic, historical, cultural, and social life. Tells the intriguing, fun, and incredible stories behind the successes of these commercial food products and documents the numerous health-related, environmental, cultural, and politico-economic issues associated with them. More than 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Charts the spread of some American fast food chains and commercially produced junk foods internationally.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Publication Date: Scribner, 2003
Presents articles on food and its place in human culture and society, including entries on topics from food preparation, distribution and storage to holidays and festivals, nutrition and health, and cultures and cuisines. Includes photographs, illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, timelines and a comprehensive index.
- The Oxford Companion to Food
Available in full-text online. Its combination of serious food history, culinary expertise, and entertaining serendipity was recognized as utterly unique. Including both an exhaustive catalog of the foods that nourish humankind and a richly allusive commentary on the culture of food, whether expressed in literature and cookbooks. Jaine assiduously alerts readers to new avenues in food studies. Agriculture; archeology; food in art, film, literature, and music; globalization; neuroanatomy; and the Silk Road.
Encyclopedia of Food and Agricultural Ethics by Richard Bawden (Associate Editor); David M. Kaplan (Editor); Kate Millar (Associate Editor); Paul B. Thompson (Editor); Lisa Heldke (Associate Editor); Julie Eckinger (Editor)
ISBN: 9789400709287
Publication Date: 2014-10-29
Issues pertaining to the full range of topics in the area of food and agricultural ethics. It includes summaries of historical approaches, current scholarship, social movements, and new trends from the standpoint of the ethical notions that have shaped them.