HIST 1200: Gender and Law in Global History (Fall 2023)

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is a comprehensive, international, interdisciplinary reference work that includes approximately 1,000 articles on all aspects of legal history throughout the world from ancient to modern times. Articles deal with private law, public law,and constitutional/higher law throughout the world and are written and signed by one of the many noteworthy contributors, which include major scholars and experts.For years, scholars have been investigating the remote origins of their respective national and religious law. Only recently has there been a developing interest in and study of the history of law in modern times. This encyclopedia will bring together the study of ancient law with the study ofmodern law-examining statutes and administrative rulings as well as judicial decisions, legislatures, agencies, and courts.The Encyclopedia will cover ancient, medieval, early modern, and modern law in eight legal traditions and geographical/cultural areas: Ancient Greek Law, Ancient Roman Law, Chinese Law, English Common Law, Islamic Law, Medieval Roman Law, United States Law, and law in other regions (Africa, LatinAmerica, and South Asia among them). It will address major categories of law within these traditions, including private law (contract, tort, civil procedure), varieties of public law (criminal law, administrative law, statutory law), and higher law/ constitutional law. It will be the firstencyclopedia of law to provide historical and contemporary comparisons of world legal systems.

This collection brings together cutting-edge work by established and emerging scholars focusing on key societies in the East Asian region: China, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Japan, North and South Korea, Mongolia and Vietnam.

Chicago: glbtq, Inc., 2003-2015.
An extensive collection of signed articles on the arts and literature. Biographical and topical entries. Articles include bibliographies.

3 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2015.
"A comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems." [About this Book]

3 volumes. New York: Scribner, 2004.
An up-to-date encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender history. "[T]he entries... offer a bracing, engaging, provocative tour of U.S. history and culture from multiple, overlapping, sometimes conflicting, but always informative perspectives." [Historical Introduction].

5 volumes. Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2016.
"The goal we set for the Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies was to reflect the wide range of topics, debates, and approaches to this exciting interdisciplinary, and increasingly, global field, while yet being forced to work with the unequal power relations that have historically marked the relations between "the West" and "the rest." While the 719 entries included in this encyclopedia may not be able to cover the entire field of gender and sexuality studies as it continues to develop in virtually all parts of the world, we hope we have captured both its complexity and its international scope." [Introduction]