Tips
Encyclopedias are great for:
- choosing a topic
- quick self-education
- perspective on a topic
- variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
- bibliography
Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)
-
Oxford BibliographiesOffers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas including American history, African American history, and more.
American History Encyclopedias
-
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: American HistoryHighly recommended. Excellent articles. Updated frequently.
-
The Oxford Companion to United States historyAlso in print, (Olin Reference E174 .O94 2001 +).
-
Dictionary of American historyA classic ten volume encyclopedia. Also in print (Olin Reference E174 .D52x 2003 +)
-
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and HistoryCall Number: Olin and Africana Reference E 185 E54 19965 volumes
-
Encyclopedia of African American history 1619-1895
Publication Date: 2006 -
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth CenturyCall Number: Olin Reference E169.1 .E626x 20013 volumes
-
Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual HistoryCall Number: Olin Reference E169.1 .E624x 2001
-
Encyclopedia of American Social HistoryCall Number: Olin Reference HN 57 .E56 19923 volumes
-
Encyclopedia of American Political HistoryCall Number: Olin Stacks and Reference E 183 .E563 volumes
-
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
by
Call Number: Olin Library Reference, E169.1 .S764 2013 +Publication Date: 2013In print and online. -
The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in AmericaCall Number: Olin Reference E185.61 E544x 19983 volumes
-
Civil War Medicine
-
The Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine
Publication Date: 2008 -
Women During the Civil War: an Encyclopedia
Publication Date: 2004
Cambridge Histories
-
Cambridge Histories OnlineProvides full text online access to the complete 300-plus volumes of Cambridge Histories reference series. Provides political, economic and social history, philosophy and literature of selected countries and subjects.
Biography
-
American National Biography.also available in print, (Olin Reference CT213 .A68x 1999 +). Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the nation. Features thousands of illustrations, hyperlinked cross-references and links to select web sites.
