Books
- Finding Transgender & Intersex In the LibraryRMC Guide on locating transgender and intersex materials in the library.
- Transgender BibliographyRMC guide to the Human Sexuality Collection.
Journal Article Databases
All journal article databases will include articles on trans people or trans issues, as the databases are organized by broad discipline. For example, for materials about trans people in the workplace, we'd suggest searching a business database such as ABI/Inform. These databases listed below are focused on gender, sexuality, or related topics and are more likely to focus on issues relevant to the trans community.
- Alt-PressWatchFull text database of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press. Basic or advanced subject searching takes you to in-depth articles on contemporary society, including coverage of the peace movement, ecology and the environment, labor, indigenous peoples, public policy, and grassroots organizing. This coverage of diverse points of view and perspectives complements the reporting in the mainstream press.
- AltPress IndexSubjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
- GenderWatchA full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas, including family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles.
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveArchival runs of 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications from 1954-2015 covering LGBT interests. Includes the pre-eminent US and UK titles - The Advocate and Gay Times, respectively. Chronicles more than six decades of the history and culture of the LGBT community. In addition to LGBT/gender/sexuality studies, this material also serves related disciplines such as sociology, political science, psychology, health, and the arts.
- LGBTQ+ SourceProvides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms.
- Studies on Women and Gender Abstracts OnlineIndexes books and journal articles on education, employment, women in the family, medicine and health, gender role socialization, social policy, the social psychology of women, female culture, media treatment of women, biography, literary criticism and historical studies.
- LGBTQ+ Life with Full TextIpswich, MA: EBSCO Publishing. 1970 to present.
Full Text/Indexes
Provides indexing and abstracts of worldwide literature on gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues, as well as full text for more than 50 journals, magazines and regional newspapers and dozens of monographs; also includes a specialized LGBT thesaurus with over 6,400 terms. - CLAGS: The Center for LGBTQ StudiesA database of resources for LGTBQ scholars: a calendar of events, calls for papers and submissions, and announcements of fellowship and scholarship opportunities. "CLAGS is committed to fostering and disseminating LGTBQ research and scholarship both in the United States and abroad." Includes an online directory of LGTBQ Studies-a searchable collection of scholars within universities, non-governmental organizations, and other places; their locations; what tracks of study are available nationwide for students and intellectuals wishing to pursue the field of LGTBQ Studies; and more.
Primary Sources
- Human Sexuality CollectionThe Human Sexuality Collection at Cornell University Library seeks to preserve and make accessible primary sources that document historical shifts in the social construction of sexuality, with a focus on U.S. lesbian and gay history and the politics of pornography.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940, Parts I & IIFarmington Hills, MI: Gale Cengage Learning, 2016- .
Part of Gale Primary Sources and cross-searchable with all the other databases therein.
Full Text
"Part I: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 features historical documents published in more than 35 countries, with over 15 languages represented. Including fully searchable periodicals, newsletters, manuscripts, government records, organizational papers, correspondence, an international selection of posters, and other primary source materials, LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II provides coverage of underrepresented communities through access to key publications. This second installment in the series highlights often-excluded groups--even within the LGBTQ community--and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism." [Publisher's summary] - Digital Transgender ArchiveThe purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history.
- glbtq Archives. Articles from the glbtq Encyclopedia ProjectAn extensive collection of signed articles on the arts and literature. Biographical and topical entries. Articles include bibliographies.
- LGBTQ Thought and CultureLGBT Thought and Culture is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day.
- Rainbow History Project"We are dedicated to making our rich collections accessible to researchers, students and community members. Browse over 1400 items related to the history of LGBT life in the DC area."
- NYC Trans Oral History ProjectThe New York City Trans Oral History Project is a community archive devoted to the collection, preservation and sharing of trans histories, organized in collaboration with the New York Public Library.
- The Transgender Archives at the University of Victoria"is committed to the preservation of the history of pioneering activists, community leaders, and researchers who have contributed to the betterment of Trans+ and other gender-diverse people."
History of Gender
Black on Both Sides by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2017-12-05Many 20th century trans narratives lived by African Americans such as as Lucy Hicks Anderson and James McHarris have been obscured in favor of white stories. This book identifies multiple intersections between blackness and transness from the mid-nineteenth century to present-day anti-black and anti-trans legislation and violence.
Before We Were Trans by Call Number: HQ18.55 .H49 2022Publication Date: 2022-09-13Today's narratives about trans people tend to feature individuals with stable gender identities that fit neatly into the categories of male or female. Those stories, while important, fail to account for the complex realities of many trans people's lives. This book chronicles historical expressions of trans experience that are often overlooked, like gender-nonconforming fashion and wartime stage performance.
Transgender History by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2009-01-07Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events.
Female Husbands by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 2020-02-28Long before people identified as transgender or lesbian, there were female husbands and the women who loved them. Moving deftly from the colonial era to just before the First World War, Jen Manion uncovers the riveting and very personal stories of ordinary people who lived as men despite tremendous risk, danger, violence, and threat of punishment.
Histories of the Transgender Child by Call Number: HQ77.95.U6 G55 2018Publication Date: 2018-10-23With transgender rights front and center in American politics, media, and culture, the pervasive myth still exists that today's transgender children are a brand new generation. This book covers a previously unknown twentieth-century history when transgender children not only existed but preexisted the term transgender and its predecessors.
Relevant Library Guides
Finding Data
- Queer-spectrum and trans-spectrum student experiences in American higher education: the analyses of national survey findingsCompelled by the circumstances of Tyler Clementi’s death, the Tyler Clementi Center convened a partnership with four premier postsecondary research centers to better understand the experiences of queer-spectrum and trans-spectrum students attending U.S. institutions of higher education.
- Roper Center For Public Opinion Research Datasets on LGBTQ+ topicsThe Roper Center at Cornell collects, preserves, and disseminates public opinion data to serve as a resource to help improve the practice of survey research.
- 2015 U.S. Transgender SurveyThe 2015 survey was the largest survey devoted to the lives and experiences of transgender people, with 27,715 respondents across the United States. An updated survey was conducted in 2022.
- The Roots of Anti-Trans ViolenceThe U.S. ranks third in the world for trans people who are violently killed, after Brazil and Mexico. The Transgender Law Center collects and publishes data and regional reports on reported incidents of transphobic violence.
- ICPSR datasets on transgender populationsAn international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations with a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences.