Specialized Arts & Humanities Databases
- Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
- ARTbibliographies modernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)A component of Web of Science -- AHCI offers multidisciplinary journal coverage of the arts & humanities. It can also be searched by cited references to specific works that appear in article bibliographies. Coverage range is1975 - date. From the main Web of Science search screen, select More Settings, and uncheck all but the AHCI checkbox.
Searching Articles and Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Search individual databases targeted to your subject topic. Databases are browsable by title and by subject area.
Article Databases & Indexes
Full-text Collections
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.
Artspeak
Some books to help you navigate art criticism and critical theory in general:
A Companion to Art Theory by Call Number: Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall) N7475 .C66x 2002 and onlineISBN: 0631207627Publication Date: 2007-03-12
The New Art History by Call Number: Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall) N7480 .H37x 2001 and onlineISBN: 0415230071Publication Date: 2001-09-20
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781118325988Publication Date: 2012-12-07
Words for Art: Criticism, History, Theory, Practice by Call Number: Olin Library N7445.2 .S39 2013ISBN: 9783956790027Publication Date: 2013
Methods and Theories of Art History by Call Number: Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall) N380 .D35 2021ISBN: 1913947025Publication Date: 2021-08-10
PhotoSpeak by Call Number: Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall) TR15 .M63 1998ISBN: 0789200686Publication Date: 1998-03-01
