LibGuides: HIST 1200: Emotions in History (Fall 2023): Published Primary Sources

Definitions

What makes a source primary?

Depends on the topic; it can be complicated. Talk specifics with faculty.

Very basic, simplistic definition: What is a primary source?

Gale Primary Sources
Cross-search multiple Gale collections including Making of the Modern World, Eighteenth Century and Nineteenth Century collections, Making of Modern Law, and other Archives products.
Selected Primary Source Digital Collections at Cornell
A selection of digital primary source collections available at Cornell, covering all places and historical periods. More collections can be found by searching the library catalog.
Cornell's Primary Source Databases

Collections of searchable primary source texts (many in English translation) from the Greco-Roman world

Nineteenth Century Collections Online: a broad range of primary sources including a variety of material types: monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more. They include works in Western and non-Western languages, and are sourced from rare collections at libraries and other venerable institutions from around the globe.
Evans digital edition (American Imprints) Books printed in the US during the 17th and 18th centuries.
Early encounters in North America: peoples, cultures, and the environment 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
American journeys eyewitness accounts of early American exploration and settlement. Eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies.

Early English books online (EEBO) Includes printed books 1450-1661.
Eighteenth century collections online (ECCO) English-language and foreign-language books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera printed in the UK and the Americas, between 1701 and 1800.
Burney 17^th and 18^th Century Newspapers

Proquest Historical Newspapers
A collection of major newspapers, predominantly US, but includes India, China, Ireland, Canada, and more from the 19th century up until a few years ago.
America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1876
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
In development. Newspaper pages from 1880-1910.

The Times digital archive, 1785-2006
Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006.

HistoryMakers
"The HistoryMakers is a national non-profit video oral history archive headquartered in Chicago, Illinois. The HistoryMakers is dedicated to preserving African American history as the missing link in American history. Focused on American history, oral history and education in general and more specifically on African American history, education, music, law, the arts, science, technology, media, medicine, entertainment, fashion&beauty, business, the military, politics and sports, The History Makers is a combination archive, library, museum, stock footage collection, on-line educator and educational PBS/TV programming. Its topics include but are not limited to African American organizations and associations, slavery, reconstruction, the labor movement, the civil rights movement and black authors."

Making of America
Primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.
American Memory: Historical Collections for the National Digital Library
Primary-source collections on American history and culture, including photographs, documents, sound recordings, and motion pictures.
AccuNet/AP Multimedia Archive
Current and historical images for the last 150 years from the Associated Press.
Southeast Asia Visions
Southeast Asia Visions is a digital collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern (1613 - 1920s) Southeast Asia.

World Trials Library (Heinonline)
Includes many historical trials in modern translated editions. It also includes selected historical trial transcripts, critical court documents, monographs about famous trials, and biographies of trial lawyers.