Medieval Studies Articles
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes articles, chapters in books, and books on all aspects of literature. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB)Covers all aspects of the European Middle Ages including literature, history, archaeology, etc. Indexes articles, chapters in books, books, etc. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
- Feminae: Medieval Women & Gender IndexAn index to journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
- Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
- [Ebsco] Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- [Proquest] Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell!
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, or Get it Cornell gets stuck, search by the title of the article in Library Home page search, search by journal title in the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Access Anywhere
Off campus install Access Anywhere on your web browser and use it to directly access databases, journals, and e-books that would otherwise be restricted or hidden behind paywalls.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar does this as well, but appears to include all citing sources, whether or not they have been published through the peer-review process.