Olin Library Maps

Olin Library's Map Collection is located in the lower level of Olin Library.

Searching for Maps

Use the library catalog to find maps and books about maps or cartography.

Examples of subject searches:

Digitized maps

Persuasive Cartography: the PJ Mode collection  This is a collection of “persuasive” cartography: maps intended primarily to influence the opinion of the viewer -- to send a message -- rather than to communicate geographic information. The collection reflects a variety of persuasive tools: allegorical, satirical and pictorial mapping; selective inclusion or exclusion; unusual projections, graphics and text; and intentional deception. Maps in the collection address a wide range of messages: religious, political, military, commercial, moral and social.

Images from the Cornell University Library map collection Consists of digitally reproduced images of paper maps from the Cornell University Library's Map Collection. Included are maps from locations around the world, ranging in date from the nineteenth century to the present.

David Rumsey map collection Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, childrens and manuscript maps.

Japanese historical maps Contains about 2,300 early maps of Japan and the World.

Digital Sanborn maps 1867-1970  A digital collection of fire insurance maps charting the growth and development of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.