How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell!
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, or Get it Cornell gets stuck, search by the title of the article in Library Home page search, search by journal title in the Library Catalog to find the physical location and/or full text availability of the volume you need.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
What is Passkey?
Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
In Firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)
In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites
The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey. You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it!
Detailed help for installing PassKey
Medieval Studies Articles
- Historical AbstractsIndexes articles, books, book reviews about the history of the world since 1450. Lots of full text. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate material.
- America: History & LifeIndexes articles, books, book reviews about North American History. Lots of full text. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate material.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB)Covers all aspects of the European Middle Ages including literature, history, archaeology, etc. Indexes articles, chapters in books, books, etc. Use "Get it Cornell" to locate full text.
- JSTORFull text of selected scholarly journals. Excludes recent issues (3-5 years).
- Project MUSEFull text of selected journals including most recent issues.
- [Ebsco] Academic Search PremierMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
- [Proquest] Research LibraryMultidisciplinary. Lots of full text. Newspaper, magazine, and scholarly journal articles. Lots of full text. Not always great on medieval topics. Good for book reviews
Articles & Full text
Search a number of databases at one time by going to the Articles & Full Text link on the library homepage, or go into individual databases for your searches.
Articles & Full Text searches articles, ebooks, audio files, and video files. It does not search the library catalog (print b
ooks and other physical items).
Use the Library Catalog for print books. Also, this system doesn't search all library resources. For comprehensive, or focused searching, go to the Databases link to find subject-specific databases.