Primary Sources in English
Printed, edited, translated primary sources in Cornell's Library Catalog
The term "sources" as a subject word will retrieve published primary sources or books about primary source. An example:
For memoirs, diaries, interviews, or biographical accounts (including autobiographical accounts), use the term "personal narratives" or "biographies" as subjects.
Examples of search strings.:
- Russia > History > Revolution, 1905-1907 > Sources
- Soviet Union > History > Revolution, 1917-1921 > Sources
- Soviet Union > History > Revolution, 1917-1921 > Personal Narratives
Selected digital collections:
-
Marxist Internet ArchiveContains writings by Lenin and others. Useful for searching and identifying material in English translation. Generally this material was also published in critical, translated editions and is available through the library and those editions would be better to use in research papers.
-
Library of CongressThese are digitized materials tagged with the subject Soviet Union. Some, like the poster on the Home page of this guide, have been translated and described.
-
ProQuest Historical NewspapersFull text of selected American newspapers, dating back in some cases to the 19th century.
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily ReportsCreated by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages, these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary. This comprehensive, fully searchable edition of the FBIS Daily Reports covers such topics as political, military and social issues, economics, science and technology for eight world regions from 1941-1996.
-
Proquest CongressionalComprehensive collection of United States historic and current congressional publications, hearings, reports, etc.
-
Hoover InstitutionDigitized material, not all in English.
Primary Sources in Russian
-
EastView Universal DatabasesThis database provides full text in-depth information from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.
- Digital Princeton University Library
The Slavic Collections in the Digital Princeton University Library feature a variety of primary sources. including a collection of late-Soviet posters, print ephemera from the recent Ukraine crisis and its aftermath, early Soviet-era children's books, early-Soviet illustrated popular-song sheet music, and early twentieth century illustrated periodicals. - Онлайн кинотеатр Мосфильма
Much of the cinematic production of Mosfilm can be viewed in their online cinema. - Не болтай!
A vast online collection of Russian posters (primarily propaganda posters) dating anywhere from 1900 to the present. The online collection is based on an enormous private poster collection in Prague. Registering and obtaining login credentials is required to access the database, but is free of charge. - Руниверс
A site offering access to a broad array of historical source material. - Электронный архив Российской исторической статистики
A database of Russian historical statistics covering the period from the eighteenth century to the present. The database's primary focus is the socioeconomic history of Russia. - Электронная библиотека ГПИБ
The digital library of the Russian State Public Historical Library offers access to digitizations of a broad range of historical primary source material.
Adapted from: Princeton Library's Russian and Soviet History : A Research Guide