Artstor images now in JSTOR
JSTOR is a growing digital library that includes multiple types and formats of content. In 2021, JSTOR began to bring Artstor to JSTOR, to create a robust platform for discovering and working with both text and images. Images from Artstor collections are being added to JSTOR, and JSTOR platform features and functionality are evolving to support work with multiple formats of research materials.
Eugène Atget & Charles Marville
Eugène Atget documented old Paris as it disappeared in the late-19th and early-20th centuries. If you're interested in his photos, you're in luck. There are many available and most are in the public domain.
Image: Eugène Atget. Boulevard de Strasbourg, Corsets,1912. Photograph. Museum of Modern Art Collection.
Eugène Atget collections:
MOMA: 2800+ images, but not a great search interface. Ex: https://www.moma.org/collection/works/104458
The Eastman House collection is in Artstor/JSTOR
Institut national d'histoire de l'art library collection 1600+ images
Getty: 300+ images
Metropolitan: 100+ images excellent interface
International Center of Photography Atget Collection very thin on metadata
Atget followed in the footsteps of Charles Marville (his real name, Charles-François Bossu, was discovered in 2013) who was hired by Haussmann to document Paris in the 1860s before he ripped it up. Although there isn't one great online collection of his work that's readily accessible, you can find his work in Artstor/JSTOR.
Image: Charles Marville. Impasse de l'Essai, vue prise du Marché aux chevaux, 13ème arrondissement, Paris, 1865. Collection: Musée Carnavalet, Histoire de Paris.
Charles Marville in the Metropolitan collection 24 images
National Gallery of Art 2013 exhibition, Charles Marville: Photographer of Paris, with a number of his images of pre-Haussmann Paris. We also have the exhibition catalog at the Fine Arts Library. His images in NGA's collection
Open Access Collections
- Paris MuséesMuseums of Paris
- Joconde DatabaseFrench Ministry of Culture database of collections from museums throughout France (not comprehensive, but extensive)
- Musée du quai Branly370,000 works originating in Africa, the Near East, Asia, Oceania and the Americas. "The museum has been the subject of controversy, with some calling for the repatriation of its collections that were acquired through colonial conquest." Some parts of the collection date to colonial expos.
- National Gallery of Art (Washington, DC) Open Access ImagesImages are available free of charge for any use, commercial or non-commercial, under Creative Commons Zero license.
- Getty Collection Open ImagesNOT to be confused with Getty Images, which is a fee-based image licensing company
- Musée Albert KahnExtensive collection of autochromes--early (WWI-era) color photographs.
