Essentials
- Historical AbstractsScholarly journal articles, books and dissertations about the history of the world (excluding North America.)
- Index IslamicusCovers worldwide literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and the Muslim world. Contains scholarship written 1906 – present.
- Middle Eastern & Central Asian StudiesScholarly journal articles, books and dissertations.
- Academic Search PremierMulti-disciplinary journal articles, many full text.
- Online Bibliography of Ottoman-Turkish LiteratureInformation about articles and books on Ottoman-Turkish Literature (not all in English).
- Turkology Annual Online = The Turkologischer Anzeiger/Turkology Annual (TA)An international bibliography for Turkology and Ottoman Studies
- JSTORSelected journals. Does not include recent articles.
- Project MUSESelected journals, recent issues only.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
What is Passkey?
Passkey is a bookmarklet (Firefox and IE) that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
In firefox, drag the icon to your bookmarks toolbar or right click and bookmark this location. Control-click (mac users)
In Internet Explorer, right-click the icon, add to favorites
The next time you're off-campus and a publisher asks you to log-in, click the Passkey. You'll be prompted for your CU netid, and that's it!
Details are at CUL Labs (Cool Tools)
How to search for articles
The Steps:
- Find a database by browsing the list here or from the Databases link on the library homepage.
- Click on the link to get into the database
- Search the database for articles
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Book Reviews
Bustan: The Middle East Book Review contains article-length review essays and traditional book reviews. Articles will deal with a host of topics related to the Middle East and Islamic Studies. Subjects include (but are not limited to) political science, economics, history, language, geography and cultural issues of the region. Articles review works in a multitude of languages; however, articles are exclusively written in English.
Google Scholar - Get it Cornell
For most topics, Google Scholar is still supremely inferior to using a specialized database, but if you're going to use it, adjust your Google Scholar preferences so that "Get it Cornell" shows up in your search.
Get it Cornell will help connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.