Requesting Maps
Most of the materials in the Map Collections do not circulate but staff can provide high quality scans (300dpi resolution .TIFF files) of almost any map we have in our collections for your reference. If for some reason a map cannot be scanned, staff will attempt to find an alternative online version.
Cornell students, faculty and staff can request maps directly through the Library catalog. Patrons that are not affiliated with Cornell who are unable to visit the map collection may request maps through the interlibrary loan program at their local library.
Map scans are delivered via shared Cornell Box folder. Visitors and those without a Cornell NetID will have scans delivered via Cornell Secure File Transfer.
Books and other material housed in the map room may be loaned on a case by case basis and at the discretion of staff.
Visit the Map Collection
Set up an appointment!
The Map Collection is currently only open by appointment, during regular business hours. Please contact us to set up an appointment. Maps staff will work with you to determine a mutually agreeable time for your visit.
Our staff will search the collections and select maps relevant to your research topic or interest and have them ready for you to view during your appointment. Individual maps are stored in folders with similar maps, based either on geographic location or by purpose or function. We encourage patrons to explore all the maps in a folder; you never know what you might find!
Maps staff can provide patrons with reference scans of any maps they find during their visit. Maps are scanned in house by our staff and will be delivered digitally following your appointment.
Class Sessions
Faculty interested in using the Map Collections in their courses are encouraged to email us! We are happy to host Map Collection Information Sessions and can tailor sessions to individual course offerings. It can take some time to prepare for class sessions so reaching out earlier is better, but we always try to make it work!