LibGuides: HIST 3060 / LATA 3060 / LSP 3061: Modern Mexico: A Global History 1810-2010 (Fall 2021): Primary Sources

Useful Tips for finding printed primary sources in library catalogs

Browse footnotes and bibliographies of books, encyclopedias, and articles for information about primary sources.

Search the Library Catalog for primary sources--both unpublished manuscripts and modern editions in print and online, sometimes in translation, of original primary sources. Use the "advanced search" with the terms for primary sources below as subjects, not keywords.

Library catalog/database terms for primary sources:

sources
bibliographies

Sources means primary sources in a library catalog. It can mean a printed, edited, modern edition of an archival source; or it can mean a collection of excerpted, translated sources which might have the words "reader" or "documents" in the title; or it can mean a book about primary and secondary sources. All are invaluable. The footnotes and bibliography of any of them will lead to more sources.

Bibliographies are whole books devoted to a topic, usually a broader topic such as "Vietnam War" or "Early Modern Europe." They are a list of sources, often primary and secondary, generally described and annotated. Extremely helpful for getting a handle on sources and the scholarly literature on a topic.

Latin American anarchist and labour periodicals, 1880-1940
This collection contains the periodicals that were accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.

This is a great, rich collection of publications but challenging to use….

This is not a searchable collection. There is no searching of the full text. The pages of these newspapers and periodicals are images—jpgs-- and not full text searchable pdfs.
The collection is not comprehensive- it contains only selected issues.

The best way to use the collection is:

Choose “Contents” on the home page and navigate to “Mexico” on page 2 on the list of countries.
Use the publication dates to make choices about what publications/issues to look at.
[Note that 19uu as a date signifies something problematic about the date. Click on the link for the publication to see specific dates.]
Once you locate the issues of publications of interest, you can download the pages, but the download will be jpgs, not pdfs.
Skim/read the downloaded pages.

Resources at Cornell

Confidential Print: Latin America
Covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.
British documents on foreign affairs: Latin America, 1833-1950
Records from the British Foreign Office in the UK National Archives.
Foreign Relations of the United States
This is a guide to this rich set of US Government materials. Can be challenging to search.

Proquest Congressional
Access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current US congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials.

Spanish Archives of New Mexico, 1621-1821
The Spanish Archives of New Mexico, 1621–1821, deals with the administration of the region from the period of Spanish Colonial sovereignty to the establishment of the Mexican government in 1821. Excluded from these archives are official land grant documents and land conveyances in special collections. A guide is included on the first reel.
Excélsior (Mexico)
Full List of Mexican Newspapers
Full list of Mexican newspapers available at Cornell.
James C. Bradley Papers, 1905-1962
more...less...
This largely unprocessed/inventoried collection includes Bradley's A Manual of the Genera of Beetles, North of Mexico; manuscripts for papers; lecture notes and teaching materials; field notebooks, drawings, and typed and handwritten notes; personal and professional correspondence; bibliographies; glass slides and mounted photographs of entomological subjects and expeditions, including the First Cornell University Biological Expedition to the Okefenoke Swamp in Georgia and a later expedition through Arizona and California, as well as a few Ithaca area scenes; photograph albums; includes much material on wasps. Also, correspondence with J. Henry Comstock and others.
Philipp Johann Josef Valentini Papers, 1870-1899
more...less...
Papers concerning Maya chronology, hieroglyphs, slabs, and languages, with comparisons to archeological sites in Palestine and Mesopotamia. Collection includes holographic manuscripts, bound and loose, hand copied portions of books, extensive notes in notebooks, large collections of tracings of hieroglyphs, pencil and colored drawings of landscapes, people and artifacts, correspondence, several unpublished papers, drafts and manuscripts for Valentini's Deciphering the Palenque Slabs, Temple of the Tree, The Home and Haunts of the Tulteka, and other untitled works. Notes about jade, gold mines, Christopher Columbus, prehistoric copper and bronze tools, Maya leaders, cliff dwellers, Nahuatl language, Hittites. Drawings of Egyptian, Mesopotamian and Mayan ruins, scenes from Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica. Folder of notes about a trip Valentini took to Washington D.C., includes late 19th century photograph of the Capitol building. Notes are from Valentini's research, studies and observations.

Microfilm that could be borrowed through Internlibrary Loan:

Despatches from United States Ministers to Mexico, 1823-1906

Publisher : United States. National Archives and Records Service

Temporal Coverage: 1823-1906

Diplomatic dispatches addressed to the Department of State by United States diplomatic representatives to Mexico. Part of the records in the National Archives designated as Record Group 59, "General records of the Dept. of State."

Catalog Record Online Guide

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records

Publisher : University Publications of America

Temporal Coverage: 1930-1966

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records. Central America. El Salvador, 1930-1945 [Catalog Record]
Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records. Central America. Nicaragua, 1930-1945 [Catalog Record]
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Argentina, 1955-1959 [Catalog Record]
Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Mexico, February 1963-1966. Part 1, Political, governmental, and national defense affairs [Catalog Record]

Catalog Record

Major Resources at Cornell

ARTstor
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data. Covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well as many other forms of visual culture.

British documents on foreign affairs: Latin America, 1833-1950
more...less...
Records from the British Foreign Office in the UK National Archives.
CIA research reports : Latin America : 1946-1976
Committee on United States/Latin American Relations Printed Material, c. 1975-1990
more...less...
Printed resource materials relating to Latin America collected by CUSLAR, including magazines, periodicals, newsletters, articles, and reports.
Confidential Print: Latin America
Covers the whole of South and Central America, plus the non-British islands of the Caribbean, from just after the final Spanish withdrawal from mainland America in the 1820s to the height of the Cold War in the 1960s.

Digital National Security Archive
The National Security Archive is a non-profit research institute and library in Washington, D.C., which provides unprecedented public access to declassified documents obtained through extensive use of the US Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). Through the Digital National Security Archive, the National Security Archive and Chadwyck-Healey have joined forces to produce the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945.

Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals Online
more...less...
This collection contains the periodicals that have been accumulated by the Austrian anarchist, historian and collector Max Nettlau (1865-1944), together with a number of later additions, held at the International Institute of Social History (IISH) in Amsterdam. The collection provides a richness of documentation pertaining explicitly to the formative anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist episode (1890-1920) in the history of Latin American labor movements.
Latin American Pamphlets from the Yale University Library
Microfiche copies of select Latin American pamphlets, 1600-1900. Cornell also has a printed guide to the collection.
Lawrence I. Grinnell Papers, 1939-1975
more...less...
Field journals; reports; lecture notes; data; films, photographs, and photograph albums; correspondence; financial records; maps; printed materials; and bird guides regarding ornithological trips taken by Lawrence Grinnell from 1939 to 1971: St. Lawrence Gulf, Churchill (Manitoba), Alaska, Southern and Western United States, Trinidad, Guatemala, Colombia, Mexico, West Indies, Tobago, British Guiana, Panama, Africa, New Zealand, Australia, the Amazon region, Brazil, Venezuela, Peru, the Antarctic, India, and Nepal; also, correspondence and a pamphlet, "The 1957-1958 New Zealand-Australia Expedition of the Laboratory of Ornithology"; materials pertaining to his dissertation A Study of the Common Redpoll; and a notebook of Cornell ornithology seminars. Also, Canoeable Waterways of New York State and Vicinity. Also, films and audiotapes.
Robert Jackson Alexander papers, 1947-1994: the interview collection
more...less...
Notes on interviews conducted by Robert J. Alexander. Almost all are typed, but also includes a few handwritten pages on which he based the typescripts. Primarily concerned with South America, Central America, and the Caribbean, also including discussion of North America, Europe, Asia, Africa, and Australia. Interviews are filed by the country or region discussed, rather than the place that the interview was held or the nationality of the speaker. Primarily documents the political and economic situation in each country, with a focus on labor relations. Other subjects discussed include foreign policy, military affairs, religion, education, and urban planning. Includes interviews with many prominent Latin American leaders including presidents, cabinet ministers, party leaders, presidents of corporations, and union leaders. Many individuals were in exile when Alexander interviewed them. He also interviewed many women–both professionals and wives of prominent men–and ordinary citizens such as taxi drivers, waiters, and chambermaids. Included are many interviews with academics and students. Some individuals were interviewed several times over the 45-year time span.
United States. Office of Strategic Services, Latin America, 1941-1961
more...less...
Indexed by: A guide to Latin America, 1941-1961 / edited by Paul Kesaris
World Scholar: Latin America
more...less...
Digital collection of primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean that cover topics such as politics, economics, religion, culture, international affairs, the environment, science, and technology. The historical collections provide original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.

Digital Collections (Internet Resources)

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Resources from and about the Caribbean. Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections. Partners include the Archives nationales d'Haiti (ANH), Caribbean Community (CARICOM), The College of The Bahamas (COB), the Fundacio n Global Desarollo y Democracia (FUNGLODE), the National Library of Jamaica (NLJ), the Universidad de Oriente (UDO) in Venezuela, Florida International University (FIU), the University of the Virgin Islands (UVI), the University of Central Florida (UCF), the University of South Florida (USF) and the University of Florida (UF).

Mexico: Photographs, Manuscripts and Imprints
Digital collection from SMU's DeGolyer Library that focuses on documents relating to Revolutionary and pre-Revolutionary Mexico.
Mexican Revolution, ca. 1910-1917
The collection consists of 381 photographic prints and photographic postcards in both black and white and color, some with manuscript letters, postmarks, and stamps.
Sor Juana, Fama, y obras postumas
more...less...
Digital edition of 1700 imprint from the Bielefeld University Library.

Multinational

Gale Primary Sources
Cross-search multiple Gale collections including Making of the Modern World, Eighteenth Century and Nineteenth Century collections, Making of Modern Law, and other Archives products.
The Making of the Modern World
Books and other materials from 1450-1914, and pre-1906 serials, focusing on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.

HIST 3060 / LATA 3060 / LSP 3061: Modern Mexico: A Global History 1810-2010 (Fall 2021): Primary Sources

Useful Tips for finding printed primary sources in library catalogs

Recommended

Resources at Cornell

Major Resources at Cornell

Digital Collections (Internet Resources)

Multinational