Finding Articles in Magazines and Journals
Use these online databases to find articles in journals and online books. Use the Cornell Library Catalog to look up books and the journal titles you find by searching these databases. Our catalog lists both the print and electronic versions of journals (when available).
Databases for searching broadly, across disciplines and source types:
-
Academic Search Premier[EBSCO]
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles). Good source for film reviews. -
ProQuest Research LibraryIndexes and abstracts over 2,000 general interest magazines and scholarly journals. Includes citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. Many of the articles found by searching in this database are available in full text electronic formats. The database can be divided by subject (general or business), format (newspaper or magazine and journal articles), or by date.
-
Articles and Full TextThis search engine works across many databases and pulls together a wide variety of resources.
-
Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities, and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research. Description from "About Google Scholar".
Use these databases to search for scholarly sources, mainly journal articles:
-
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive.New York: JSTOR.
Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within three to five years of the present [the "moving wall"]. Rich in book reviews and review journals for specific subjects and disciplines, JSTOR is a fully-searchable, full-text database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. List of journals included and years covered. To find book reviews, select Advanced Search. In the Advanced Search page, type one or two keywords from the book title in the first search box. Under Narrow Your Search to "These Types," check the Review box. Click Search. -
Project MUSESearchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
-
Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press from 1960.
-
AltPressIndexIndexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, with citations drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism.
-
World Regions and Diasporas databasesA collection of databases focusing mainly on publications for various world regions.
-
CQ Researcher PlusA database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
-
America: History & LifeAmerica: History and Life (AHL) is a complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Published since 1964, the database comprises over 530,000 bibliographic entries for periodicals dating back to 1954. Additional bibliographical entries are constantly added to the databases from editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journals issues published prior to 1954.
