Use the following reference sources to find background information, context, and definitions. For other helpful titles, ask us for suggestions.
- Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Borchet, Donald M., ed.
10 print vols. 2nd ed. Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2006.
(Print version at Olin Ref B 51 .E56 2006 +)
Containing material from hundreds of highly distinguished contributors representing the world's top universities and institutions, the second edition has a truly global perspective.
- The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
Honderish, Ted, ed.
2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2005.
(Print version at Olin Ref B 51 .O94 2005)
"Two hundred forty-nine contributors create the most authoritative and engaging philosophical reference work in English. It gives clear and reliable guidance to all areas of philosophy and to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day. The scope of the volume is not limited to English-language philosophy: it surveys the foremost philosophy from all parts of the world. The book covers philosophical topics from animal souls, arthritis in the thigh, and brain in a vat to Zoroastrianism and vague objects. There are more than fifty extended entries of 3,000 words on the main areas of philosophy and the great philosophers." (Publisher).
- The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy
3rd ed., revised. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2016.
(Print version of the 2nd ed. at Olin Ref B 41 .B53 2005)
This dictionary is meant to be a "resource for anyone interested in general intellectual movements." (Preface). It contains definitions to over 3000 philosophical terms and those from related disciplines (theology, physics, psychology, sociology) "where such terminology is heavily embedded in philosophical discussion." (Preface). It also includes historical philosophers and scientists whose work brought about major changes in philosophical thought. The definitions contain extensive cross-references.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Craig, Edward, ed.
Stanford University, 1997- .
"[E]ach entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned." (About the Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Online.
(print version: Olin Reference B 51 .R68 1998)
Find articles on philosophers and philosophical topics. Strong coverage in ethics. Online version regularly updated.
- A Dictionary of Psychology by Andrew M. Colman
Call Number: Olin Library Reference, BF 31 .C65 2015
Publication Date: 2015
An authoritative and up-to-date dictionary covers all branches of psychology. Clear, concise descriptions for each entry offer extensive coverage of key areas including cognition, sensation and perception, emotion and motivation, learning and skills, language, mental disorder, and research methods. Over 9,500 entries.
- The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner (Editor); W. Edward Craighead (Editor)
Call Number: Olin Library Reference, Oversize BF31 .E56 2010 +
Publication Date: 2010
The latest update of this comprehensive encyclopedia that includes both brief descriptive and biographical entries and longer analytical essays. Entries are individually authored, and often include cross-references and bibliographies. Volume 4 contains brief biographies for all the article authors and the author and subject indexes for the whole set.
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science by Lynn Nadel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2008
Covers the cognitive sciences in the broadest sense. Reviews the common themes of information and information processing, representation, and computation, with in depth coverage of the core areas of psychology, philosophy, linguistics and neuroscience.
Dictionary of Cognitive Science by Olivier Houdé (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Covers neuroscience, psychology, artificial intelligence, linguistics, and philosophy.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience by Larry Squire (Editor)
Publication Date: 2009
The Encyclopedia of the Neuroscience explores all areas of the discipline in its focused entries on a wide variety of topics in neurology, neurosurgery, psychiatry and other related areas of neuroscience. Each article is written by an expert in that specific domain and peer reviewed by the advisory board before acceptance into the encyclopedia.
Encyclopedia of Linguistics by Philipp Strazny (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.