Kroch Library Resources
The Wason Collection on East Asia
Overview of resources available for East Asian studies in Kroch Library. Many resources are in East Asian languages.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
References western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
Encyclopedia of Japan
A full-text searchable, electronic copy of Kodansha's Encyclopdia of Japan. Useful for brief descriptions of terms, figures, events, musical instruments, song types etc.
Encyclopedia of Korean Local Culture
A handy resource for looking up people, places, objects and concepts of Korean culture.
Recommended Online Resources
- Association for Chinese Music Research
AMCR maintains a listserv, runs conferences, and produces newsletters and bibliographies of writings on Chinese Music
- The Internet Archive of (Traditional) Chinese Music
With samples of traditional Chinese Music.
- An Introduction to Traditional Chinese Music
Essays and links to online videos.
- The Oxford Bibliography of Chinese Music
- Historical Recordings of Japanese Music
The National Diet Library offers a selection of historical recordings, preserved from 78 rpm records. Over 2000 are publicly available.
- Samples of Japanese Traditional Music
With public domain transcriptions of Japanese songs.
- Teaching Resources (Taiko Drum Example)
TES Resources has a number of free tutorials on Japanese music.
- The Oxford Bibliography of Japanese Music
- Korean Music Portal
Multi-lingual introduction to traditional Korean music. The "Sori" sections contain various video clips of live performances.
- The National Gugak Center
The leading institution in Korea for traditional music