Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background sources for sociology of work
Annual Review of Sociology
Comprehensive review of the literature in sociology. Identifies major trends in the field and provides overviews of research in specific subject areas within sociology.
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology Online
Brings together 1800 specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Contains brief and more detailed articles on both classical sociology and contemporary developments in the field, and introductions to sociological theories and research that have developed outside of the United States and Western Europe. The online version provides online additions three times a year, extending and updating coverage and functionality.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
Publication Date: 2015-02-17
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Sociology of Work: An Encylopedia by
Publication Date: 2013-06-12
How did it come about that work dominates so many parts of our lives and our psyche? This multi-disciplinary encyclopedia covers curricular subjects that seek to address that question, ranging from business and management to anthropology, sociology, social history, psychology, politics, economics, and health.
Research in the Sociology of Work
Each volume of this series has a different theme. We have selected volumes available in electronic format - search the library catalog by title. Here's the Emerald web page listing the volume themes: https://www.emerald.com/insight/publication/issn/0277-2833
Oxford Bibliographies - Sociology of Work and Employment
Oxford Bibliographies are written and reviewed by academic experts. Each thematic article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This one focuses on sociology of work and employment.
American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association is a non-profit membership association that is dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. Founded in 1905, it is an association of nearly 14,000 members and home to 44 special interest sections with more than 21,000 members. ASA hosts of an annual meeting with more than 6,000 participants and is a publisher of 10 professional journals and magazines.
Can't Get the Book at Cornell?
Use Requests on the Library homepage to:
- Hold, recall, request materials from the Annex, and library-to-library book delivery.
- Interlibrary Loan material that Cornell does not own from libraries worldwide.
- Borrow Direct is a reciprocal borrowing program among the Ivies. If Cornell's copy is unavailable, you can borrow it from another Ivy. It is fast -- usually only a few days!