Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Places to start
Available through Cornell or a local public library or personal subscription Provides access to historical documents and photos, local narratives, oral histories, indexes and other resources in over 30,000 databases that span from the 1500s to the 2000s. The Library Edition of Ancestry.com has fewer personalized functions and options than the versions available to private subscribers.
The largest collection of genealogical lists on the Web today. A good starting point for problems and challenges.
Available through Cornell or a local public library Available through Cornell or a local public library. Features indexes to tens of thousands of genealogy books and journals, Revolutionary War records, and Freedman Bank Records.
Family Search (LDS)
Includes several databases and services. The main search is newly designed.
Also recommended: International Genealogical Index(IGI)
index of birth and marriage registers from all over the world submitted by volunteers who transcribed information from the microfilms of original records collected by the FHS; Family History Library
an online catalog. Microfilm can be borrowed through a local Family History Center.
The supporting organization for thousands of surname discussion lists. Features many primary documents that have been transcribed or scanned by volunteers and made searchable such as obituaries, county histories, tax lists, etc.
The USGenWeb Project
Run by volunteers. Organized by county and state. Provides gateways to and email discussion lists for counties.
The USGenWeb Archive
A collection of ongoing volunteer transcription projects for census records, marriage bonds, wills, and other public documents.
Find others working on your family to exchange information.
Find a Grave.com
60 million records. Includes forums for discussion.
Historical Geospatial Research
Land Ownership Maps
These maps of counties and towns from the mid-nineteenth to early twentieth-century show who actually owned property. Now available online through Ancestry.
Sanborn Map Collection
Available through Cornell or a local public library
A collection of historic fire insurance maps. Detailed maps of thousands of localities in the US over successive years.
Cornell Library Map Collection
Located in the lower level of Olin Library. About 250,000 maps, many historic. Website includes many freely available online mapping tools and sources.
Deeds, Patents, and Land Records
Good overview of history of ethnic groups in the United States.
Jewish and/or East European
JewishGen is outstanding not just for Jewish genealogy but also East European genealogy. Watch for various tutorials on ethnic genealogy offered by the major sites.
AfriGeneas is an excellent site with chat, message boards, surname lists, etc.
GENUKI is one of the best umbrella sites for Ireland and, in fact, all of the British Isles.
Selected Immigration Sites
Societies and Organizations
Selected Books and guides to Genealogical Research
The Source: a guidebook of American genealogy
Call Number: Olin Library Reference CS49 .S65x 1997
Edited by Loretto Dennis Szucs and Sandra Hargreaves Luebking. Salt Lake City : Ancestry, c1997.
Recently became freely available online.
Genealogy Online For Dummies by
Publication Date: 2011