Databases for Locating Journal and Magazine Articles
Primary database to search for literature and literary criticism:
- MLA International Bibliography. 1963- .
Searchable database of journal articles, books, and dissertations published on modern languages, literature, and literary criticism. Coverage is international. Also includes citations to articles about literary theory, dramatic arts, folklore, and film. In the absence of a direct article link, use our catalog to look up the journal titles and books from your search results.
Discipline Specific Databases:
- Sociology Source Ultimate.
Sociology Source Ultimate is an expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.
- America History & Life
Selected full text. Primarily scholarly. Covers range of topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, folk art, film and architecture. Indexes publications from 1954 to present.
- Historical Abstracts
Selected full text. Chiefly scholarly. Chiefly secondary sources. Covers history of the world (except North America) since 1450 C.E. Multilingual. Indexes publications from 1954 to present with some retrospective coverage.
- Avery index to architectural periodicals
The Avery periodical index offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Avery indexes not only the international scholarly and popular periodical literature, but also the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present.
Databases for searching broadly, across disciplines and source types:
- Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).
- ProQuest Research Library.
Searches thousands of general interest magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. We subscribe to most of the periodicals indexed. Many articles are available full-text from the article citation page. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).
- Articles & Full Text [aka Summon].
A vast index to online articles and eBooks. Links to full text in most cases.
Searchable full-text collections of scholarly journals:
A large collection of searchable and browseable full-text scholarly journals. Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within two to five years of the present [the "moving wall"]. List of journals included and years covered.
- Project Muse.
Contains full text of journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.
Distinguishing between Reviews and Criticism
The simplest criterion for distinguishing book and film reviews from criticism is the time of publication of the review or critical article compared to the original publication date of the book or the release date of the film.
Book reviews are generally written around the time the book was originally published; literary criticism appears in later years. For example, reviews of F. Scott Fitzgerald's The Great Gatsby that appeared in 1925 or 1926 (right after the novel was published) are book reviews, while literary criticism about the novel continues to be written today. The same general distinction applies to film reviews and film criticism.