Note:
Below you will find a few suggestions for searching this topic. These suggestions aren't the only way to find materials, but they may help to get you started.
SARS Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome
I. Find Background
Reference Sources:
- Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases: search SARS
- AccessScience also includes an entry on SARS
Databases:
To expand your search, try the bibliographic database History of Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Search: SARS. If you spot a book or article of interest, Ask Us. We will be happy to try to help you find it.
II. Search the library catalog
To find scientific (medical) texts, histories, and “popular” materials (written for non-specialists).
- Go to the Library Catalog
- Search terms: "severe acute respiratory syndrome" OR SARS
- From the list of results, you can also Limit Your Search (left-hand menu) by Subject and more to see all the subheadings (for example, “Diagnosis” or “History”). Some promising subject headings: SARS (Disease) > China > History
III. Find current Scholarly Journal Articles (secondary sources)
- Database:SocIndex
Suggested search terms to start:
On the first line, enter "severe acute respiratory syndrome" OR SARS;
On the next line add the term "history."
IV. Find current “popular” (i.e. written for the general public, rather than for specialists) articles about SARS
- Database: Proquest Research Library
Select the Advanced Search;
Scroll down to limit to Document Type, Magazines
Add your search terms or phrase: "severe acute respiratory syndrome" OR SARSDatabase: -
Database: Access World News
Select a geography (United States, China, Canada ?);
Add some topic terms;
You may wish to use the pull-down menu to limit your topic terms to the Lead/First Paragraph.