ARTH 1132 : Seeing, Reading, and Writing the Alhambra (Fall 2021): Context

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Oxford Companion to Western Art, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships and a digital image search.

Bibliographies on many, many topics (a few pertinent individual titles listed below). Provides introductions to each topic area, and includes guides to introductory works, textbooks, guidebooks, journals, reference works etc., and links to useful websites.

Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on specific topics in a growing range of subject areas. There are at least 50 specific topical bibliographies in each subject area. Each of these features an introduction to the topic. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable. 

Help from Oxford: Anatomy of an Article

Very important:

The Bibliographies in Subject Encyclopedias recommend scholarly works, such as this one:

al-Andalus: the Art of Islamic Spain, an exhibition catalog that accompanied a show at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City. Also available online.

Evaluating the sources you find is a crucial step in the process of scholarly research. The questions you ask about books, periodical articles, or multimedia sources are similar whether you're looking at a citation to the item or have the item in hand.

• How to Critically Analyze Information Sources
  Lists some of the critical questions you should ask when you consider the appropriateness of a particular book, article, media resource, or website for your research.
• Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria.
  Shows how to evaluate periodicals by looking at their format, intended audience, and appearance.
• Evaluating Web Resources
  Lists ways to analyze the websites you find