Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What you'll find on this page
This page contains a non-exhaustive list of sources from federal, state, and municipal governments where you can locate data provided by the government. There are some other government data sources listed on other pages in this guide as well. Be sure to check them out too!
U.S. Federal Government Data
This box contains a list of some sources where you can find data from various federal government departments. This is not an exhaustive list.
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data. Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
Hosted by the U.S. Department for Health and Human Services, Heathdata.gov "is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
CDC National Center for Health Statistics
An additional CDC data source that offers a variety of data by topic or geography
County Health Rankings - All States
County-level data, including healthy food outlets. This database ranks each county within the 50 states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health. The county health rankings have an indicator under the “physical environment” section called access to healthy food. Links to other national and state level data are also provided.
USDA Agricultural Research Service (ARS)
Publicly accessible data from the USDA. The site also includes links to research papers and other articles and stories that utilize the data.
FRED - St. Louis Fed: Economic Data
This site offers a wealth of economic data and information to promote economic education and enhance economic research. The widely used database FRED is updated regularly and allows 24/7 access to regional and national financial and economic data.
NBER (National Bureau of Economic Research) Data sets
A mix of economic, political, demographic, and health data sets.
International Data Sources
A source of economic data for all types of agriculture around the world. Includes Trade, Production, Supply, Price, and other environmental data.
The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development's database list covering topics from economics to health to agriculture and much more.
World Bank Data
The data catalog provides download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank sources.
World Development Indicators
Development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available). There are hundreds of series (categories) available in the drop-down menus. The new interface walks you through the process of selecting country, series, and time variables. Offers the ability to create tables and extract data to a spreadsheet.
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union. It provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
State and Municipal Data Sources
Many states and municipalities provide publicly-accessible data repositories for the data they are required to make available to the public (and then occasionally some other data sets.) A few are listed below, and you can often locate data for a specific state or municipality by searching for the state or city name + "data."
New York State Data
Browse and download over 1,600 New York State data resources on topics ranging from farmers' markets to solar photovoltaic projects to MTA turnstile usage.
Open Data Philly
A resource for publicly available data from the City of Philadelphia
The open data portal for Los Angeles.
NYC Open Data is one of the most robust examples of an open municipal data source. (You can also find some of these data sets through the NYS portal and data.gov, but this is the most comprehensive site.) Below is a link to the NYC Open Data portal, along with an article from April 2020 that discusses how publicly available trash pickup data from the Department of Sanitation could be used as a predictor to figure out which neighborhoods had the most people leave the city during the early days of the COVID-19 pandemic.