Overview
Reference Sources can be excellent sources for background information on your topic adding context, key terms and concepts, and lists of recommended readings. Reference encyclopedias and guides can also be rich sources for topic ideas.
Selected Titles in STS
-
The Handbook of Science and Technology StudiesPublication Date: 2017-07-21"... features 36 chapters, each written for the fourth edition, that capture the state of the art in a rich and rapidly growing field. One especially notable development is the increasing integration of feminist, gender, and postcolonial studies into the body of STS knowledge. The book covers methods and participatory practices in STS research; mechanisms by which knowledge, people, and societies are coproduced; the design, construction, and use of material devices and infrastructures; the organization and governance of science; and STS and societal challenges including aging, agriculture, security, disasters, environmental justice, and climate change. -
Ethics, Science, Technology and Engineering: A Global ResourcePublication Date: 2014This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.
Note: The title appears in the Gale eBook collection.To search this title, only, look for "Search Within Publication."
-
Science, Technology, and Society byPublication Date: 2005Emphasizing an interdisciplinary and international coverage of the functions and effects of science and technology in society and culture, Science, Technology, and Society.
Note: Thid title appears in the Oxford Reference Collection. To search only this title, scroll down to find "Search within work."
Selected entries
-
"The Gender Politics of Technology"by, Judy Wajcman (2009) IN The Oxford Handbook of Contextual Political Analysis, Robert E. Goodin and Charles Tilly, eds.
-
"Technology."Bray, F. (2008). In The Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History. : Oxford University Press.
Selected Titles for Women's History
-
The Oxford Handbook of American Women's and Gender History by Call Number: Olin Library, HQ1410 .O993 2018 +Publication Date: 2018-10-02"... interprets the diverse history of women and how ideas about gender shaped their access to political and cultural power in North America.: -
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality StudiesPublication Date: 2016-04-27Offers an "interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, economics, literary studies, politics, history, and psychology as well as the fields of women's, gender and sexuality studies Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist activism, regional and national diversity, international context, social policy, economics, non-governmental organizations and key terms."
Sample Searches: Technology, work, or stereotypes
